Skip to Main Content

Brazilian Cordel Literature : Journal Articles

Article Search Tools

 

Find specialized article databases on your topic.

Database Library


Locate Journals and articles when you have a citation with Citation Search.

Articles Search

Search for magazine, newspaper and scholarly articles

Core Article Databases

 

MLA (CH)/ MLA (CSA) : The Modern Language Association International Bibliography indexes 4,000 English language and foreign periodicals as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) Online : Contains over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

Handbook of Latin American Studies : Includes citations for books, journal articles, conference papers, and websites that pertain to the disciplines covered by HLAS, available in English, Spanish and Portuguese language interfaces.

JSTOR: Academic journal archive.

SciELO: Electronic library covering Brazilian and other Latin American academic journals

Redalyc: Over 580 academic journals online and more than 136,000 full-text articles from Latin America, the Caribbean, and the Iberian Peninsula.

Informe Académico: Content emphasizes Spanish and Portuguese language social sciences and humanities journals and newspapers.  Most coverage from the mid- to late-1990s to the present.

 

SOME EXAMPLES OF ARTICLES FOUND IN THE ABOVE DATABASES:

Chozas Ruiz-Belloso, Diego. "La literatura de cordel brasileña y sus conexiones con la Edad Media." Especulo: Revista de Estudios Literarios 30 (2005): (no pagination).

Immaculada, Lopez. "Literatura Viva." Problemas Brasileiros 39.346 (2001): 36-39.

Jasmin, Elise. "La geste de Lampião." Cahiers du Monde Hispanique et Luso-Bresilien/Caravelle 88 (2007): 177-200.

Martins, Edson Soares. "O cordel, o homosexual e o poeta 'maudito': Novelo de discursos no folheto de Salete Maria e Fanka Santos." Estudos de Literatura Brasileira Contemporánea 22 (2003): 125-36.

Santos, Idelette Muzart Fonseca dos. "Literatura de Cordel: Literature for Market and Voice." Literary Cultures of Latin America: A Comparative History, Ed. Marilia Rothier Cardoso. Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2004, Vol. I, p. 614-619.

Silva, Simone. "Versos cantados & versos escritos: A oralidade e a escrita na cantoria e na literatura de cordel na Zona da Mata de Pernambuco." Donos da palavra: Autoria, Performance e Experiencia Em Narrativas Orais Na America do Sul, Hartmann, Luciana (Ed.), Santa Maria, Portugal: Universidade Federal de Santa Maria (UFSM), 2007. p. 191-213.

Slater, Candace. "Terror in the Twin Towers: The Events of September 11 in the Brazilian Literatura De Cordel." Latin American Research Review 38.3 (2003): 37-59.

---. "Why One Evil King could Not be Brazilian: A Comparison of Portuguese and Brazilian "Literatura De Cordel"." Luso-Brazilian Review 18.2 (1981): 279-94.

Ulrike, Mühlschlegel, and Musser Ricarda. "De cómo la donazela Teodora atravesó el mar, se casó con un "Cangaceiro" y finalmente descubrió la cibernética en São Paulo: La literatura de cordel brasileña como medio de masas." Iberoamericana, Nueva época 6 (2002): 143-160.

Suggested Keywords

The following words and phrases can help you find articles on this topic in the databases listed on the left of this box. For best results when using these, do a "keyword search". Keep in mind that you might get more results if you use keywords in Portuguese in addition to keywords in English.

  • "literatura de cordel"
  • "cordel literature"
  • "cordel literature" and brazil
  • "cordel literature" and brazil or brasil
  • "cordel literature" and [specific keyword on a topic]

For example:

  • "cordel literature" and aids 
  • "cordel literature" and politics

NOTE: Some databases do not allow for the use of Boolean operators (and, or) or the use of quotation marks to form phrases. For example: HAPI does allow the use of Boolean operators but does not allow the use of quotation marks.