2010-2011 Go Big Read: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks : Articles
Finding Scholarly Articles
Having trouble finding articles? Click below for search tips.
Article Databases
Below are links to databases that cover the subject areas addressed by The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. The truncation symbol for all of them is an asterisk (*) unless otherwise noted.
Sample searches for databases:
- ownership and tissue*
- human tissue* and sale
- human experiment* and payment or compensat*
-
human experiment* and african-american*
- human experiment* and race
-
bioethic* and informed consent
- race and informed consent
- bioethic* and race
- Academic SearchThis library database contains approximately 3,100 popular magazines and academic journals and provides the full-text articles from approximately 1,000 journals.
- Biological AbstractsJournal literature covering virtually every life science discipline including biochemistry, biotechnology, clinical and experimental medicine, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology.
- Health Source: Consumer EditionGives full text since 1990 of periodicals covering nutrition, exercise, medical self-care, drugs & alcohol, & more. It indexes abstracts for over 300 periodicals, full text for more than 1100 pamphlets, 135 books, & 4500 clinical reference system reports.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- SocINDEX with Full TextSocINDEX with Full Text includes full text for 397 "core coverage" sociology journals dating back to 1908 and 150 "priority coverage" journals. It encompasses all sub-disciplines of sociology and closely related areas of study.
- Web of Knowledge (Web of Science)Web of Knowledge is a combination of three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It indexes over 8,000 peer-reviewed journals. Use Find It to locate the full-text of an article.
Go Big Read
Contact us for more information.
Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?
UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).
Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.
Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.