2010-2011 Go Big Read: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks : Reviews

Find More Reviews

Search these databases for more reviews and popular magazine articles.

Book Review Digest Plus
Citation information, excerpts, or full text for reviews of more than 550,000 fiction, nonfiction, social science, and general science books. Includes popular, scholarly, and specialty English-language journals. Date Range: 1983–current.
more...less...
Tips: To search for book reviews, type the book title and/or book author’s name in the search box(es), placing the book title in quotation marks. Choose "Book review" from the "Document Type" drop-down menu. Click "Start.”
Readers' Guide Full Text
Indexes 240 popular magazines in a wide range of subject areas. Subject matter covers news and current events in politics, business, science, education, religion, the arts, etc. Full-text coverage of 131 titles begins with 1994. Date range: 1983-current.
more...less...
Tips: To search for book reviews, use "Advanced Search.” Type the book title in quotation marks and/or book author’s name. Choose “Book review” from “Document Type” drop-down menu.

Find reviews of Rebecca Skloot's The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks.

A legacy of life: Saga of cancer patient whose cells advanced medical discoveries
From the Boston Globe.
Henrietta Lacks: the mother of modern medicine
From the Guardian (UK).
Henrietta Lacks' story
From the Lancet.
Eternal Life
From the New York Times Book Review.
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot: review
From the Telegraph (UK).
Book review: 'The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks' by Rebecca Skloot
From the Washington Post.
More reviews
Additional reviews have been compiled by library staff in a RefWorks RefShare folder. Note: UW-Madison affiliation (Net ID and password) is required to view some of the subscription-based content in the RefShare folder.