Japan Studies : Databases
Databases
| Title | Description | Access | |
|
Information on academic papers published in academic society journals or university research bulletins, or included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database. | Online | |
|
Bookplus indexes over 1,740,000 books. published in Japan from 1926 to the present. | Online | |
|
The Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic is a repository of academic journal articles and research papers created and maintained by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JSTA). | Online | |
|
Cross Search in Japanese research institutes fo journal articles, thesis, dissertations, departmental bulletins and research papers, including 87 institutional repositories with over 570,000 entries by 2009. | Online | |
|
ざっさくプラス
|
A citation index to periodical articles published in Japanese since 1868. Includes nationally distributed periodicals (Zenkoku-shi) and regionally published periodicals (Chiho-shi) as well as those published in former Japanese colonies. | Online | |
ヨミダス
|
Includes the full text of the Yomiuri Shinbun, from its initial publication in 1874 to date, as well as full text of the Daily Yomiuri, its English language equivalent, and a biographical dictionary of modern Japanese figures. | Online | |
|
The largest collection of Japanese databases with over 5.2 million items, consolidating five separate databases. | Online | |
| NDL Digital Collections | Database of the National Diet Library Digital Collections. | Online |
| Title | Description | Access |
| Zassaku | A citation index to periodical articles published in Japanese since 1868. Includes nationally distributed periodicals (Zenkoku-shi) and regionally published periodicals (Chiho-shi) as well as those published in former Japanese colonies. | Online |
| CiNii Article | Information on academic papers published in academic society journals or university research bulletins, or included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database. | Online |
| The overview of Japan's periodicals. | Online |
| Name | Access |
| Kyoto Digital Library | Online |
| NCC Japan (北米日本研究史料調整協議会) | Online |
| Chiba University (千葉大) | Online |
| Hokkaido University (北海道大) | Online |
| Hosei University (法政大) | Online |
| Kyoto University (京大) | Online |
| National Archives of Japan (国立公文書館) | Online |
| Tokyo Institute of Technology (東京工大) | Online |
| Title | Description | Access |
| Aozora bunko | A comprehensive digital collection of Japanese literature. | Online |
| Todai Katei bunko | This collection consists of 1,851 Japanese books related to novels and theater, mainly contents range from Otogi-zoshi, Kana-zoshi, Ukiyo-zoshi, etc. to Kusazoshi, a popular illustrated reading material from the Edo period, Joruri, and Kabuki. | Online |
| Japanese Text Initiative | A collaborative effort to make texts of classical Japanese literature available on internet. | Online |
|
国文学研究資料舘 |
National Institute of Japanese Literature Database. | Online |
| Title | Description | Access |
| アジア歴史資料センター JACAR | Digitized Asian historical materials provided by The National Archives of Japan, the Diplomatic Archives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and the National Institute for Defense Studies of the Ministry of Defense. | Online |
| Record of the minutes of plenary sessions and committee meetings since the first Diet session (May 1947) in text or images. | Online | |
|
国立国会図書館インターネット資料収集保存事業 |
The comprehensive database of the Web Archiving Project (WARP) of the National Diet Libray of Japan. | Online |
| National Diet Library Digital Collections | National Diet Libray's digital database for published materials. Books, historical materials, periodicals, newspapers, and etc. included. | Online |
| Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952 | Collection of diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, maps, summaries of events from the British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952. | Online |
| Japan and Korea: Summation of Nonmilitary Activities, 1945-1948 | Digital archive of monthly reports document the rebuilding of postwar Japan and southern Korea by Allied occupation forces. | Online |
| Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files | Archive of U.S. State Department documents and files related to political, military, social, and economic issues in Japan, from 1930-1949. | Online |
| Meiji Japan: Edward Sylvester Morse collection from the Phillips Library at the Peabody Essex Museum | Digitized archive of personal and professional papers of Edward Sylvester Morse documents his career as a natural historian and his life as one of the first Americans to live in Japan. | Online |