Skip to main content

We are here to help

Contact Us

African Commemorative Textiles : Databases

Area Studies Librarian

Profile Photo
Emilie Songolo
Contact:
Memorial Library
Room 278F
608-265-4740
Subjects: Africa, Ethnic Studies

Questions?

This guide was created and managed by Kirstie Yu, with support from Emilie Songolo. For questions, contact kayu2@wisc.edu.

Digital Databases and Resources

 

IMAGES OF COMMEMORATIVE FABRICS FROM AFRICA

This is the UW-Madison General Library System's own digital collection of commemorative fabrics.

 

SWAHILI PROVERBS: KISWAHILI METHALI 

This link goes to the UIUC Center for African Studies database about Swahili proverbs and their use on kangas. It also provides a small image gallery of some kanga cloth, as well as an exhaustive list of proverbs in Swahili grouped by theme. 

 

UNIVERSITY OF OREGON: AFRICAN POLITICAL EPHEMERA AND REALIA PROJECT

This online collection includes not only fabrics, but all manner of political communication such as pamphlets, posters, or t-shirts. The search bar on the left is particularly useful, as you can narrow your search by country, language, among other categories.

 

TOMATHAN-- AFRICAN COMMEMORATIVE CLOTH: A SERIES

This blog page is very useful. It gives a brief history of African commemorative textiles, how they initially came to Africa, and describes their significance in the context of West Africa. The blogger also provides a list of articles and resources, as well as an image gallery of his personal collection. A good resource.

Other Guides of Interest

Article Databases