African Commemorative Textiles : Articles/Journals

Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. A total of 8,500 journals are indexed and abstracted. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over 100 journals and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This resource is licensed by BadgerLink/Department of Public Instruction for use by all Wisconsin residents. (Updated daily)

Art Full Text provides indexing and abstracting of over 600 key English and foreign-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, including select full-text coverage beginning in 1997. Nearly 2,000 art dissertations are also abstracted and indexed. Its subject matter covers archaeology, architecture, art history, crafts, decorative arts, graphic arts, industrial and interior design, landscape architecture, museology, and film, video and photography. Feature articles are indexed, as are bibliographies, notices of competitions and awards, reports of conferences and exhibitions, book and film reviews, and significant editorials and letters to the editor. Reproductions of works of art are also indexed. See Art Index Retrospective for coverage of earlier journal literature. (Updated monthly)

ABM covers most aspects of modern and contemporary art, including the design and history of photography. Artists and movements from late nineteenth century Impressionism to the present are included, with an emphasis placed on adding new and lesser-known artists. In addition to traditional media, other media are also covered, including performance art, body art, graffiti, crafts, and calligraphy. The history of photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. ABM abstracts journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. (Updated monthly)

The Getty Research Institute provides free access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA). The databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA). BHA and RILA survey the visual arts in Europe and the Americas from late antiquity to the present, indexing articles from more than 1,200 periodicals published in 45 languages, as well as books, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, conference proceedings, and bibliographies. (Not updated)

BHI indexes and abstracts approximately 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. This database includes a thesaurus. Subject coverage includes archaeology, current affairs, education, economics, environment, gender studies, history, law, political science, and religion. (Updated monthly)

The Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards. , Types of material include major articles; short articles; news items; conference and seminar reports; reviews of books, videos, films, CD-ROMS, and exhibitions; obituary notices, and illustrations. In addition, it includes data on more than 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms, etc. All areas of design and craft are covered, including industrial design, interior design, environmental design, computer-aided design, furniture design, ceramics, jewellery, textile design, graphic design, book design, photography, advertising, exhibition design, theatre design, ergonomics, and design and craft theory, among other areas. Between 10,000-15,000 references are added annually. There are four ongoing supplementary databases: Education Directory, Organizations Directory, Archives Directory, and Periodicals Directory. (Updated monthly)

Indexes English-language periodicals and journals in the humanities. Topics covered: archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, history, journalism, linguistics, literary & social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. Coverage: indexing 1984-, abstracts 1994-, some full text 1995-. (Updated monthly)

JSTOR is a full-text journal database which provides access to more than 1,200 titles in the fields of African-American studies, anthropology, architecture, Asian studies, biological sciences, botany, ecology, economics, education, film, finance, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, middle east studies, music, philosophy, political science, population/demography, religion, sociology, and statistics. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, depending on the title. The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal; it is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR. Graphs, photographs, and other images are included. UW-Madison Libraries have acquired the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-VIII; Biological Sciences; Business; Ecology & Botany; Health & General Sciences; Ireland; Language & Literature; Music. (Updated irregularly)

The Web of Science is a combination of three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data and author abstracts. Every item of significance is listed: articles, reviews, letters, notes, corrections, and editorials. In addition to access by author, title, and institution, it is also possible to search by cited authors and to find articles sharing one or more cited reference. It is possible to search the three databases independently or in any combination. Live links to electronic journals with full text are included for some publishers.