Library and Information Studies Career Guide : Intersectionality in LIS

*Available as an e-book

Accommodating disabled people in the library workplace is just the start. This book exposes the unique qualities of the library workplace, including the caretaking nature of the profession and its shadow side. We ask whether it is possible to negotiate a safe path between the exercise of personal power and deference to the hierarchical structure. Imaginative choreography is needed to sidestep the neoliberal pressure to classify, normalize, commodify, manage, or control the experience of disability.

The Black Librarian in America: Reflections, Resistance, and Reawakening is the latest in the powerful line of The Black Librarian in America volumes. While previous editions we organized around library types, this edition is organized in four thematic sections" -A Rich Heritage: Black Librarian History -Celebrating Collective and Individual Identity -Black Librarians across Settings -Moving Forward: Activism, Anti-Racism, and Allyship" Issues pertaining to Black librarians' intersectional identities, capacities, and contributions take center stage. The Black Librarian in America: Reflections, Resistance, and Reawakening is not only the first edition to be edited entirely by Black women, but it is officially produced by BCALA members in commemoration of the organization's 50th anniversary. Dr. Carla Hayden (14th Librarian of Congress) and Julius Jefferson, Jr. (president of the American Library Association for the 2020-2021 term) contribute moving foreword and afterword segments.

*Also available as an e-book

This collection of essays offers considerably more than an academic look at leadership development strategies. The stories offered here provide authentic and personal views, from highly diverse perspectives, about why one might pursue management or leadership positions in LIS, the challenges that people from historically underrepresented racial and ethnic minority groups face when they attempt to enter that landscape, and practical strategies for developing oneself to ensure success. Further, the authors take a holistic approach to the topic, challenging the reader to consider how issues of self-development, self-reflection, and self-care should be intrinsic to this process. A deep understanding of how our multiple identities connect and must be nurtured will allow us to reach our full potential as leaders in the workplace, in the profession, and beyond

*Also available as an e-book

Offers a historical-cultural context for the ethos of service in libraries and critically examines this professional value as it intersects with gender, sexuality, race and ethnicity, class, and (dis)ability.

Available as an e-book

The news and scholarly literature are replete with stories and articles describing the challenges that diverse individuals face in their local communities and workplaces. This book tackles these issues head on and should appeal to a broad audience interested in diversity as it relates to libraries and librarianship, including professional librarians and paraprofessional library staff. Offering best practices strategies tempered by experiences and wisdom, this book will help libraries realize a high level of inclusion.

Cultural humility offers a renewing and transformative framework for navigating interpersonal interactions in libraries, whether between patrons and staff or staff members with one another. It foregrounds a practice of critical self-reflection and commitment to recognizing and redressing structural inequities and problematic power imbalances. This collection, the first book-length treatment of this approach in libraries, gathers contributors from across the field to demonstrate how cultural humility can change the way we work and make lasting impacts on diversity, equity, and inclusion in libraries. This book's chapters explore such topics as how Indigenous adages can be tools for reflection and guidance in developing cultural humility; the experiences of two Black librarians who are using cultural humility to change the profession; new perspectives on core concepts of customer service; rethinking policies and practices in libraries both large and small; using cultural humility in approaching collection development and creating resource guides; what cultural humility can look like for a tribal librarian working in a tribal college library; and reflecting on cultural humility itself and where it is going.

*Available as an e-book

Provides a collection of both personal narratives and critical analyses of mental illness in the LIS field, exploring intersections with labor, culture, stigma, race, ability, identity, and gender.

*Available as an e-book

Using intersectionality as a framework, this edited collection explores the experiences of women of color in library and information science (LIS). With roots in black feminism and critical race theory, intersectionality studies the ways in which multiple social and cultural identities impact individual experience. Libraries and archives idealistically portray themselves as egalitarian and neutral entities that provide information equally to everyone, yet these institutions often reflect and perpetuate societal racism, sexism, and additional forms of oppression. Women of color who work in LIS are often placed in the position of balancing the ideal of the library and archive providing good customer service and being an unbiased environment with the lived reality of receiving microaggressions and other forms of harassment on a daily basis from both colleagues and patrons. This book examines how lived experiences of social identities affect women of color and their work in LIS.

"Centers the lived experiences of trans and gender diverse people in LIS work and education. All authors and editors will be self-identified trans and gender diverse people"--

This book offers a comprehensive look at the experiences of people of color after the recruitment is over, the diversity box is checked, and the statistics are reported. What are the retention, job satisfaction, and tenure experiences of librarians of color? The authors look at the history of librarians of color in academia, review of the literature, obstacles, roles, leadership, and the tenure process for those that endure. What are the recruitment and retention methods employed to create a diverse workforce, successes and failures? Finally what are some mentoring strategies that work to make the library environment less exploitative and toxic for librarians of color?

*Available as an e-book

This book will guide you through the process of cultivating strong relationships and building a network that will get you were you want to be. You'll learn to identify a strong, knowledgeable support network that you can rely on for guidance or mentorship. This step is crucial in getting young women of color into tech careers and keeping them there. Build your professional network to get the guidance you need. Find a mentor who understands your goals and your struggles. Overcome negativity and stay motivated through difficult times. Identify and develop the soft skills that you need to get ahead in tech Read this book to help bring to life your vision of a future in tech. With practical advice and inspiring stories, you'll develop the right tools and the right mindset.