Library and Information Studies Career Guide : Librarianship

This "essential tool" remains the definitive handbook on this branch of the profession. It covers every aspect of the public library, from its earliest history through its current incarnation on the cutting edge of the information environment, including statistics, standards, planning, evaluations, and results; legal issues, funding, and politics; organization, administration, and staffing; all aspects of library technology, from structure and infrastructure to websites and makerspaces; adult services, youth services, and children's services; associations, state library agencies, and other professional organizations; global perspectives on public libraries; and advocacy, outreach, and human rights.

This resource will enable professionals at every stage of their careers to honestly assess their skills and knowledge. Utilizing the RUSA (Reference and User Services Association) Professional Competencies as a framework for reflecting on strengths as well as gaps in expertise, it guides readers through developing strategies to enhance their professional standing and potential, thereby leading to a more satisfying career. This book not only authoritatively tells practitioners, managers, students and educators what is expected of reference and user services librarians, but also points the way towards achieving those competencies.

*Also available as an e-book

Offers a historical-cultural context for the ethos of service in libraries and critically examines this professional value as it intersects with gender, sexuality, race and ethnicity, class, and (dis)ability.

*Also available as an e-book

Here, one of America’s foremost experts in public library services to children cover the basics of library services for children. Jeanette Larson highlights best practices and "toolkits" that provide tools and resources to quickly implement programs and services. She includes model programs, checklists and forms, and ready-to-use examples of programs, with an emphasis on programs that are inexpensive to implement and simple to replicate.

A comprehensive, evidence-based guide that offers LIS instructors, students, and practitioners a valuable tool for aligning YA services to more fully reflect our diverse populations of young people, this collection delves deeply into such topics as the historical roots for current theories and practice; how intellectual freedom, storytelling, library collections, and other service topics can connect with the library's notion and vision of young adults; diverse YA identities, including critical race theory; competing perspectives on young adults' rights in libraries; envisaging YA librarianship from a teen-centered perspective; youth identities and the school library; and moving beyond coaching to copilot with young adults. The broad range of topics and arguments in this volume invites and challenges readers to see critical theory as a means to effect true transformations in young adult services.

This is a new and revised guide to finding one's way through the first years of school librarianship. It touches on technology, planning, outreach, and ethics as it discusses professional development of school librarians in today's world.

More than just a compendium of management theories, this book provides much food for thought that will help readers gain important insights into their own roles as school library managers and leaders.

How do school librarians best serve students, classroom teachers, and principals simultaneously? The inspiration, guidance, and strategies presented in this book will support school librarians as they make and sustain connections and advocate for their central role in future-ready learning. This book offers preservice and practicing school librarians, district-level library supervisors, school librarian educators, school principals and administrators, and other stakeholders strategies and tools for positioning school librarians as instructional leaders.

*Available as an e-book

This freshly updated edition of The School Library Manager is an invaluable textbook that leads readers through the many essential management tasks and skills required to administer the successful school library program and beyond. It promotes the leadership role of the school librarian in the school and addresses the need for school librarians to provide students with equal access to information. The information presented will not only enable librarians to keep their jobs but also supply specific guidance and inspiration that gives readers the ability to make their positions and libraries undeniably relevant and valuable--and to ensure a path of upward mobility in their LIS careers.

*Available as an e-book

Evans and new coauthor Greenwell guide readers towards understanding what is required to have a successful career in academic librarianship, explaining why academic libraries are distinct from other types of libraries and lending practical insight into their unique political and operational characteristics. The text offers comprehensive coverage of such key issues as teaching faculty roles and the status of the academic librarian; governance and the growing tension on some campuses between faculty and administration; curriculum, with a discussion of the balance between general education requirements and applied courses; etc.

*available as an e-book

Intended for use by librarians and students in LIS programs, Academic Librarianship Today is the most current, comprehensive overview of the field available today. Key features include: chapters commissioned specifically for this book with authors who are highly regarded academic librarians or library school faculty--or both; cutting edge topics, such as open access, copyright, digital curation and preservation, emerging technologies, new roles for academic librarians, cooperative collection, development and resource sharing, and patron-driven acquisitions.

*Available as an e-book

The Future Academic Librarian's Toolkit is a thorough handbook designed to guide you from library school through your first several years as an academic librarian. It can help you apply for your first position, find your bearings in your new job, establish yourself in the profession through scholarship and service, and transition to your next position. In addition, you will add important skills to your professional toolkit: advocating for yourself and your ideas, writing for publication, teaching effectively, connecting with faculty and students, and building your professional brand.

*Also available as an e-book

There's never been a more challenging time to find a position as an academic librarian, especially for those who have recently completed their library education. But whether job-hunters are jumping into the job pool for the very first time, or back in the water after a dry spell, Neely and her crack team of expert contributors have the information needed to stay afloat.