Tools for Finding Grants for Your Nonprofit Organization : Subscription Databases
Navigation
- GIC HomeGrants Information Collection Web site Home Page
- About the GICMission, Vision, and Location of the Grants Information Collection
- Foundation CenterNation's leading authority on Philanthropy, Grants, and Giving.
- Candid Funding Information Network locationsSearch for other network partners located in all 50 states, as well as several countries.
Ask a Librarian
Subscription Databases
Below are the databases to which UW-Madsion subscribes. All visitors to Grants Information Collection have access to these databases.
Which database should I use?
Foundations: Use the Foundation Directory Online (FDO) or Foundations in Wisconsin: a Directory. FDO provides a wealth of information on thousands of foundations, including direct links to their tax records (990PFs or 990s).
Private and Public (government) funders: Use COS Pivot. This is a very nice "catch-all" database that includes grants from government sources, as well as private grants from sources such as foundations.
Past grants and visual data: Use Foundation Maps. This database uses information from FDO and the Foundation Center to map data regarding the distribution of grants, grants recipients, and areas served. View the relationships between various funders and recipients by using the Pathways feature.
Other Greater Madison Nonprofits: Use the Greater Madison Nonprofit Directory from the Madison Community Foundation.This tool allows users to search for organizations in Dane, Columbia, Green, Iowa, and Sauk counties.
- Foundation Directory Online (Professional)A web-based database from the Foundation Center, a foundation-supported clearinghouse of information on private funding sources. Provides information on over 140,000 independent and company-sponsored foundations, corporate givers, and grantmaking public charities. Foreign foundations and nonprofit organizations other than foundations are excluded. For use in Memorial Library only.
Need help? - Foundation MapsA handout is available here.
Foundation Maps is the Foundation Center's data visualization tool design to help funders and grantseekers see who is funding what and where around the world. With millions of grants from 2006 to the present, innovative ways to visualize funding data, and the flexibility and precision to tailor research, Foundation Maps helps funders and recipients access the knowledge they need to make strategic decisions and strengthen their impact. For use in Memorial Library only. - PivotSearch over 28,000 active funding opportunities and over 3 billion past awarded grants from
private and federal funding sources. Covers a wide array of subjects and disciplines. (Note: You must set up a personal login account using your wisc.edu email - free to UW-Madison affiliates - to save searches and track opportunities. However, a login is not necessary to use the database.)
Need help?
- Greater Madison Nonprofit DirectoryA comprehensive guide from the Madison Community Foundation to IRS 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable organizations located in Dane, Columbia, Green, Iowa and Sauk counties. Filter by geography, Guidestar Profile levels, and causes.
- DonorSearch.netDonorSearch.net is the single largest repository of donor giving history publicly available anywhere. By combining DonorSeries, the NOZA US Charitable Donations Database, and FEC data, the user can search 55 million gift histories simultaneously. 2 simultaneous users licensed.
- GrantselectThe GrantSelect provides information on over 10,000 grants available to both individuals and organizations from 4,000 federal, state, and local governments, commercial organizations, associations, and private foundations. Emphasis is on U.S. programs, yet some foreign programs are included as well. Grants can be searched by type, subject, geographic area, sponsor, population groups, and more.
Subject Guide
Stay Current
Keep up to date with the world of philanthropy.
- Chronicle of PhilanthropySearch news, article, blogs, and more related to philanthropy.
Patrons must inside a UW-Madison library or affiliated with UW-Madison to view. - Non-Profit TimesLearn more an non-profit management by reading the Non-Profit Times.
- Philanthropy News DigestBrowse and search for news items, jobs, RFPs, and more from this free service from the Foundation Center.