Jewish Music : Listening Online

A search for "Yiddish song" or "Jewish music" will yield multiple results. Naxos offers selections from The Milken Archive of American Jewish Music. Liner notes are available as PDFs whenever possible.

DRAM's offerings in this area are not vast, but what they have is intensely interesting. An example would be the Cedille Records title "Dancing on the Edge of a Volcano: Jewish Cabaret Popular and Political Songs 1900-1945." Liner notes are available as PDFs whenever possible.

This database provides audio from all over the world. For example, browsing by Cultural Groups yields results from Jewish, Jewish-American, Jewish-Israeli, Jewish-Moroccan, and Jews, Ethiopian. There are also several Yiddish song collections, including the Folkways Records title "Yiddish Folk Songs sung by Ruth Rubin." Liner notes are available as PDFs whenever possible.

The Recorded Sound Archives at Florida Atlantic University Libraries began in 2002, and now offers the largest online collection of Jewish music in the world via its Judaic Collection, using technology to ensure that this cultural heritage will be heard around the world for generations to come.

This site focuses on the music of the Jews descended from those exiled from the Iberian Peninsula, showcasing over 100 years of recorded Sephardic music from the 78 rpm era to the present. Its mission is to comprehensively document the entire history of recorded Sephardic music worldwide, and it provides information useful to researchers in addition to the audio files.

The Mayrent Collection of Yiddish Recordings is part of the Mills Music Library Special Collections, and is unique in its comprehensive scale and scope. The over 9,000 78rpm discs include Yiddish theater, popular and traditional music, cantorial songs, klezmer music, poetry, drama, and event ballads and from locations as diverse as the United States, Eastern Europe, Latin America, South Africa and Israel. The contents offer an unparalleled audio entrée into the vibrant, fascinating cultural practices of early- mid 20th century Yiddish life.