Jewish Music : Home
A guide to researching Jewish music
About This Guide
This research guide focuses on Jewish Music. It is intended to be a useful place to start your research. It includes print, multimedia, and online resources available via Mills Music Library, and other resources available freely on the Web.
If you would like further research help, please contact us at the Mills Music Library (see profile box on the right). We are always happy to help!
Getting Started Online
- Starting Research in Jewish MusicThis page at the Jewish Music WebCenter provides an introduction to researching Jewish Music, help with narrowing your subject, and navigating the vocabulary. It contains some information specific to Brandeis University, but has plenty of useful tips to help any researcher.
- Jewish Music Research CentreAn academic institution fully dedicated to the documentation, research, and publication of scholarly materials about Jewish music, founded in 1964 and based at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Their Thesaurus of Jewish Music offers biographies, lexicon, and a bibliographical database.
- Yiddish song: an A-Z of researchA bibliography assembled by Abbi Wood, outlining a range of published work concerning various aspects of Yiddish song, particularly folk song.
General Reference
These are a few examples of books you could find by searching Library Catalog:
- Concise Encyclopedia of Jewish Music byMills Music Library Reference Collection: ML106 J49 N84
- The Resource Book of Jewish Music : a Bibliographical and Topical Guide to the Book and Journal Literature and Program Materials byMills Music Library Reference Collection: ML128 J4 H48 1985
- Yiddish American popular songs, 1895 to 1950 : a catalog based on the Lawrence Marwick roster of copyright entries byMills Music Library Reference Collection ML128 J4 H48 1992
