Basic Reference Sources : Dictionaries
Selected English Language Dictionaries (online)
Selected English Language Dictionaries (print)
These are a sample of the many English language dictionaries in library collections. For more resources of this type, search for English dictionaries in the Subject field of Advanced Search screen of the Library Catalog.
Selected Foreign Language Dictionaries (print)
These are a sample of the many foreign language dictionaries in library collections. Search for the English word for the foreign language and dictionaries in the Subject field of the Advanced Search of the Library Catalog.
Other Dictionaries (print)
These are a sample of many dictionaries in library collections. Search for [your subject/type] dictionaries in the Subject field of the Advanced Search of the Library Catalog.
Chambers Dictionary of SlangISBN: 0550104399
Chambers Rhyming DictionaryISBN: 0550103473
Dictionary of Literary and Thematic TermsISBN: 0816032327
Dictionary of ScienceCall Number: Q123 C68 2005 - Memorial Reference Stacks, 2 SouthISBN: 0192806416
Dictionary of the Social SciencesISBN: 0195123719
New Penguin Dictionary of MusicISBN: 014100925X
Oxford Dictionary of Art and ArtistsISBN: 019953294X
Oxford Dictionary of Phrase, Saying, and QuotationISBN: 0192806505
More Reference Guides
For additional resources and in-depth assistance, see the following reference research guides:
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online contains more than 130 subject dictionaries and reference works of Oxford University Press. ORO covers general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, business and professional subjects. It includes English dictionaries, and bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish, and Italian as well as Oxford Companions and the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.