- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- German Genealogy: Reference Sources in Memorial Library
- Handbooks, Guides, Manuals & Lists
German Genealogy: Reference Sources in Memorial Library : Handbooks, Guides, Manuals & Lists
Bibliography compiled and maintained by Alan Furchtenicht
Handbooks, Guides, Manuals & Lists
Baxter, Angus. In search of your German roots: a complete guide to tracing your ancestors in the Germanic areas of Europe. 3rd ed. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1994.Call Number: CS613 B38 1994, VERONA SHELVING FACILITY- Beidler, James M. Trace your German roots online : a complete guide to German genealogy websites. Cincinnati, Ohio: Family Tree Books, c2016.Call Number: CS613 B47 2016, WISCONSIN HISTORICAL SOCIETY LIBRARY Stacks
- Dearden, Fay. The German researcher: how to get the most out of an L-D-S branch genealogical library. Minneapolis: Family Tree Press, 1983.Call Number: CS614 D4 1983, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Stacks Regular Size Shelving
- Genealogical guide to German ancestors from East Germany and eastern Europe. AgoFF-Wegweiser English ed. Neustadt/Aisch : Verlag Degener, 1984.Call Number: CS614 G34 1984, VERONA SHELVING FACILITY
- Germanic genealogy : a guide to worldwide sources and migration patterns. 3rd ed. St. Paul, MN: Germanic Genealogy Society, c2007.Call Number: CS614 G47 2007, WISCONSIN HISTORICAL SOCIETY LIBRARY Reading Room
- Henning, Eckart. Handbuch der Genealogie. Neustadt/Aisch: Verlag Degener, 1972.Call Number: CS11 H35, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Stacks Regular Size Shelving
- Jensen, Larry O. A Genealogical handbook of German research. Rev. ed. Pleasant Grove, UT: Jensen, 1980.Call Number: CS614 J46 1980, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Stacks Regular Size Shelving
- Lind, Marilyn. Researching and finding your German heritage. Cloquet, MN: Linden Tree, 1984.Call Number: CS614 L56 1984, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Stacks Regular Size Shelving
- Minert, Roger P. and Shirley J. Riemer. Researching in Germany: a handbook for your visit to the homeland of your ancestors. Sacramento, CA: Loreli Press, c2001.Call Number: CS613 M56 2001, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference Stacks, Floor 2 South
- Riemer, Shirley J., Robert P. Minert, and Jennifer Anderson. German research companion. 3d ed., rev., updated, expanded. Sacramento, CA: Loreli Press, c2010.Call Number: CS 613 R56 2010, WISCONSIN HISTORICAL SOCIETY LIBRARY Reading Room
- Schober, Katherine. Tips and tricks of deciphering German handwriting : a translator's tricks of the trade for transcribing German genealogy documents. [Lexington, KY] : [publisher not identified], [2018] ©2018.Call Number: CS614 S28 2018, HISTORICAL SOCIETY LIBRARY Stacks
- Smelser, Ronald M. Preliminary survey of the German collection. Salt Lake City: University of Utah Press, 1979.Call Number: Z5313 G4 S57 1979, WISCONSIN HISTORICAL SOCIETY Shelving Library Stacks
- Smith, Clifford Neal. Encyclopedia of German-American genealogical research. New York: R.R. Bowker Co., 1976.Call Number: E184 G3 S66, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference Stacks, Floor 2 South
- Storrer, Norman J. A genealogical and demographic handbook of German handwriting, 17th-19th centuries. Pleasant Grove, UT: Storrer, 1977.Call Number: Z115 G4 S86, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference Stacks, Floor 2 South
- Taschenbuch für Familiengeschichtsforschung. 11., vollst. neubearb. u. erw. Aufl. Neustadt/Aisch: Degener, 1995.Call Number: CS18 T36 1995, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference Stacks, Floor 2 South
- Thode, Ernest. Address book for Germanic genealogy. 6th ed. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Pub., c1997.Call Number: CS611 T48 1997, VERONA SHELVING FACILITY
- Thode, Ernest. German-English genealogical dictionary. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1992.Call Number: CS6 T48 1992, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference Stacks, Floor 2 South & WISCONSIN HISTORICAL SOCIETY LIBRARY Stacks
- Wegweiser für Forschungen nach Vorfahren aus den ostdeutschen und sudetendeutschen Gebietesowie aus den deutschen Siedlungsräumen in Mittel-, Ost-, und Südosteuropa : (AgoFF-Wegweiser). 2. wesentlich erw. Aufl. Neustadt (Aisch) : Degener, 1982.Call Number: CS684 W44 1982, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference Stacks, Floor 2 South
- Wellauer, Maralyn A. Family history research in the German Democratic Republic. Milwaukee: Roots International, 1987.Call Number: CS613 W45 1987, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Stacks Regular Size Shelving
- Wellauer, Maralyn A. Record keeping and archives in West Germany. Milwaukee: Roots International, 1987.Call Number: CD1221 W45 1987, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Stacks Regular Size Shelving
- Wellauer, Maralyn A. Tracing your German roots. Milwaukee: Wellauer, 1978.Call Number: 78-2626, HISTORICAL SOCIETY LIBRARY Pamphlet Collection