- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Industrial and Systems Engineering (ISyE)
- Publishing your Research
Industrial and Systems Engineering (ISyE) : Publishing your Research
Make sure to consider and secure your own rights as an author to your research BEFORE you publish!
- Managing Your Copyright at UW-MadisonOverview information on how to manage your copyright, including an Author Addendum to assist faculty in controlling their copyright when publishing.
- SPARC Resources for AuthorsInformation from the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition about scholarly publishing and your rights as an author.
- Faculty Senate Resolution in Support of Accessible Scholarly and Scientific PublicationIn 2005, the Faculty Senate issued this statement urging "both the library and faculty to support alternatives to commercial ownership and management of scholarly and scientific publication."
Assistance on Campus
- Scholarly Communication and PublishingIncludes information on Managing your Copyright, the NIH Public Access Policy and more.
- Research Data ServicesGet help with writing a data plan, plus managing and sharing your research data.
Ulrich's Periodical Directory
Ulrich's lists valuable information about periodicals including:
- Where the journal is indexed
- Which databases the journal is published in
- Contact information for the journal editor
- Peer-review status
- Institutional pricing information
- Reviews of the journal
Journal Ranking Metrics
Journal ranking metrics can help you:
Search for a journal by name or ISSN:
- Journal Citation ReportsThis is the most comprehensive resource for finding a journal's impact factor. Impact factor ranks journals consistently within disciplines, but not across them. This database also lists Eigenfactor data.
- Eigenfactor.orgEigenfactor is a more complex weighted metric indicating journal prestige. This database also includes article influence, pricing and cost effectiveness data.
- SCImago Journal RankingSimilar to Eigenfactor, SJR is a weighted metric. It also ranks journals within disciplines in quartiles. This database also includes H-Index data.
- Google Scholar MetricsBased on the h-index, the exact details of how this is calculated are murky.
Where to Publish?
Cited Reference Searching
This method of databse searching can allow you to find the details of when, where and how a given article has been cited. This is incredibly useful!
- Web of ScienceThe Web of Knowledge is a combination of three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data and author abstracts. Every item of significance is listed: articles, reviews, letters, notes, corrections, and editorials. In addition to access by author, title, and institution, it is also possible to search by cited authors and to find articles sharing one or more cited reference. It is possible to search the three databases independently or in any combination. Live links to electronic journals with full text are included for some publishers.
- Google ScholarPresents data on how many times articles have been cited. Look for "Cited by ... " below the article title and description.
- Video: Citation Reports in Web of ScienceUse Web of Science to generate citation reports, listing data about how many times a set of articles have been cited over time, and including the h-index of the author(s).