Onward Odyssey ENGL 100: A Sense of Place (Fall 2024) : Scholarly Articles
Scholarly Articles
Researchers who are experts in a subject write scholarly articles to share the results of their original research or analysis with other researchers and students. These articles are generally considered trustworthy because in most cases, before the research can be published, a group of experts with the same subject background reviews and approves the researcher’s methods and conclusions. This rigorous process is known as peer review.
For your assignments, scholarly articles will provide information about landmarks/locations that may be similar to yours but throughout the country and world.
Searching for Scholarly Articles
For our example topic of Garver Feed Mill, we can search for articles about:
- Architecture preservation
- Historic renovations
- Historic factories
- Multi-faceted destinations
- Historic preservation
- City history
- Urban renewal
Academic Search is a great database to begin your searching. It covers many different topics and contains both scholarly and non-scholarly sources.
In Academic Search, we can search: "historic preservation". What additional terminology could we include in our search?
These results may help us identify a specific issues to address in Assignment 4.
Resources for Database Searching
Additional Databases
Suggested databases that cover topics like sociology, public policy, education, and environmental topics:
- Academic SearchA large, multidisciplinary database covering most topics.
- SocINDEX with Full TextCovers all aspects of sociology, with mainly scholarly articles.
- PAIS (Public Affairs)Covers current public and social policy in multiple subject areas.
- Education Research CompleteCovers early childhood through higher education.
- Agriculture and Environmental ScienceIncludes mainly scholarly articles in this subject area.
Current Issues and Controversies
These databses explore a variety of issues, problems, and controversies surrounding locations in the United States and the world. How have other cities approached these issues? How do they apply to your landmark/location? What ideas do they share to help you problem-solve your selected local place or landmark?
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insights into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextProvides a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
