Historical Research in the Atmospheric Sciences : Primary Sources
AOSS Librarian
About Primary Sources
History can be a tricky topic to cover due to the slippery nature of what, exactly, is defined as "history". It might be possible to learn the entire history of an idea just by looking at journal articles contained in a database with coverage beginning in the 1970s. For others, the concept might stretch back centuries, and you might want to look at archival materials across the ocean. In these cases (and in the first!), primary sources can help you understand the ways that people at the time thought about and acted upon an idea. These might come in the form of newspapers, conference literature, diaries, maps, and more.
As a general rule, it helps to think about what groups of people would have cared about your topic, then look for things they would have left behind. For example, in the past farmers, doctors, and armies all had good reasons to document meteorological research.
As a result of the multi-faceted nature of a primary source, they can be tough to track down. Below are some recommendations of places to look, but you should always feel welcome to reach out to a librarian for assistance if you get lost, or if you are looking for something specific you saw in a citation and can't find it.
Government Documents
Government documents can contain scientific information meant to be transmitted more quickly than academic articles. Many government scientists in many different countries have documented seminal research moments and discussed ideas with one another through memos, technical reports, and other documents. Some of the repositories of the government agencies most often involved with atmospheric research are listed below, but the government documents page from the UW-Madison historical research Research Guide is also an excellent place to get started.
AOSS government agency online repositories
Weather Maps
Weather maps have been a method of communicating meteorological information for decades, and, fortunately, past maps are very well-archived.
- From 1871 to 2002, weather maps are archived online by NOAA on their Central Library's website.
- From 2003 until the current day, this NOAA website provides access to weather maps.
- For the most recent 6 months, NOAA also keeps a rolling archive online on their weekly PDF files page.
- If you’d like to see physical copies, the AOSS Library keeps a weather map collection from 1939-2011.
- The Storm Prediction Center keeps an online archive of upper air maps from 1998 to the present.
- Earlier upper air maps can be difficult to come by, but you can try reaching out to the National Weather Center Library in Oklahoma.
Other Primary Sources
Archival materials
Archives around the world contain pockets of documents ranging from original satellite images to centuries-old correspondence. Most archives are place-based, but others are specific to an organization or a discipline. It can often be difficult to find and view items contained in archives, and talking to a librarian is a great idea if you are interested in this avenue. However, some archives have materials digitized and available online, and this can be an excellent way to browse primary sources. Some particularly relevant archives are listed below, but there might be a place- or time-specific archive elsewhere relevant to your research.
Of particular note, the UW-Madison SSEC keeps extensive archives of the building's in AOSS research in its library archives, right in the AOSS Building.
AOSS archives
- National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) archive
- NOAA archives at the National Archives
- Space Science & Engineering Center (SSEC) UW-Madison archive
AOSS online archives
Newspapers
Newspaper articles may not represent scientific dialog, but they can document public understanding of a topic and provide more information about contemporary events. UW-Madison subscribes to an incredible number of newspaper databases, and you are encouraged to browse the UW-Madison newspaper Research Guide if you are interested in viewing newspapers as a part of your project.
