HISTORY/JOURN 560: History of U.S. Media - Archives Intro (Fall 2024) : Secondary Resources

Secondary Source Material

Introduction:

The following are resource for finding secondary source material - material that summarizes, analyzes, or uses primary source material to make an argument or create discussion.

Secondary Resource Databases:

America: History and Life
This resource indexes and abstracts more than 1700 social science and humanities journals in the field of United States and Canadian history. Links to full-text articles are included when available. To locate materials elsewhere, click on the "Find It" button.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
A research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.
Docuseek - Streaming Documentaries
Streaming video collection of independent, social-issue and environmental films from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution. UW-Madison access is to the Docuseek Complete Collection, 3rd Edition.
JSTOR
A database that provides full text articles from more than 500 journals covering topics from social sciences, humanities, biological sciences and business. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are generally not available.
New Communication Technologies, Their History and Social Influence: An Annotated Bibliography
This annotated bibliography covers scholarship on the history and social influence of new communication technologies. It begins with innovations in timekeeping, the reproduction of visual images, and Johann Gutenberg's invention of printing with movable metal type--developments between the thirteenth and mid-fifteenth centuries that helped to make possible the modern world.