HISTORY/JOURN 560: History of U.S. Media - Archives Intro (Fall 2024) : Digital Archives

A full text database of newspapers and periodicals from the local, national and international alternative and independent press focusing on politics, government, art, the environment, labor, and religion.

AP Newsroom includes Associated Press primary source material comprised of captioned photographs, maps, charts, logos, illustrations, news stories, audio clips, etc. from the 1800 s to 48 hours ago.

In February 1941, the Roosevelt administration authorized the creation of the Foreign Broadcast Monitoring Service (FBMS). The mandate of the FBMS was to record, translate, transcribe and analyze foreign shortwave propaganda radio programs. In 1947 FBMS was renamed the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Its original mission was centered on radio and press agency monitoring and translation. But in 1967, FBIS' mission was expanded to include foreign mass media whether it was conveyed by radio, television, or print. The Readex FBIS electronic database consists of scanned copies of the paper issues of the various FBIS Daily Reports.

This collection contains page images and searchable text of about 900 periodicals created by or for U.S. military personnel during the Vietnam War era. Most were produced underground by U.S. soldiers or veterans who opposed the war, using mimeograph machines or other inexpensive technology.

Access a fraction of over 12 million pages and items dating from 1753 to 1985, including documents, publications, photographs and films related to Cyrus Hall McCormick and the International Harvester Company. These items document the history of the agricultural equipment industry, the McCormick family, and many other topics in fields as diverse as the history of advertising, technology, labor, business and rural life.

This resource provides descriptive summaries of over 30,000 television news programs collected in the Vanderbilt Archive since August, 1968, searchable through the TV-NewsSearch database. The Archive includes programs from ABC, CBS, NBC and CNN. CNN programs can be viewed online. Loan copies of tapes of other programs are available for a fee from the Archive.

This database provides searchable access to the complete archives of leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Titles included: Better Homes & Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, Woman’s Day, Women’s International Network News.