CHEM 311: Chemistry Across the Periodic Table (Fall 2022) : Finding Books
Books often provide background and comprehensive information about a topic. To find books and more on your topic, search the Library Catalog.
To limit your search to UW-Madison books, click checkbox for Limit to UW-Madison.
To limit your search to e-books, click checkbox for Available Online. We are unable to access e-books from non-UW-Madison libraries.
Tip sheets for searching the Library Catalog:
Electronic Reference Books
The following resources are basically large reference books turned into electronic databases. They are easier to search through than their print counterparts! To cite these resources in ACS style, use the 'book' reference type.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry & PhysicsThe CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a basic reference book for chemical and physical data. Material is updated and revised and new material included in each annual. Sections include basic constants, units conversion factors and mathematical tables, chemical and physics terminology, organic and inorganic compounds, biochemistry, analytical chemistry, properties of atoms, particles, solids, fluids, polymers, and sections on geophysics, astronomy, and laboratory safety.
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical TechnologyThe Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
- Science of SynthesisScience of Synthesis provides a critical review of the synthetic methodology developed from the early 1800s to the present for the entire field of organic and organometallic chemistry.SoS provides full-text descriptions of organic transformations and synthetic methods as well as experimental procedures. It includes the original Houben-Weyl - Methoden der Organischen Chemie (Methods of Organic Chemistry) from 1909-2003, the 48 volumes of SoS from 2000 and 2010, all knowledge updates post-2010.