SPANISH 319: Topics in Spanish Language Practice: Reimagine Urban/NonUrban Space (Spring 2024) : Finding Articles
This guide is for students of Spanish 319 to help them in their research.
Ask a Librarian
Overview for Article Database Search
- Use the Advanced Search option in each database.
- Decide which field/s to use in your search (keywords, title, author, subject).
- If using keywords, remember to use Boolean operators (AND, OR, quotations, truncation sign, etc.)
- Narrow your search by clicking on the options on the side navigation bar or in the subjects listed in each individual record.
- Note if the article needed is available full-text online or if you will need to dig more to get to it. Use the Find It button available in the database. Some articles might be available only in print.
- Use Citation Search if you have a specific book or article citation.
Database Search Strategies
These library research tutorials will help you locate articles:
Bases de datos en español/Databases in Spanish
- Informe AcadémicoInforme académico contains a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America, with an emphasis on the social science and humanities with strong geographic coverage for Mexico, Spain, Argentina, Chile, Venezuela, Colombia, and Peru. Currently comprises 320+ titles (journals, magazines and newspapers).
- Red Iberoamericana de Innovación y Conocimiento Científico (REDIB)REDIB uses a single portal to give users direct access to scientific and academic documents of confirmed quality, put out by publishers and other producers of scientific and academic content in Ibero-American countries or relating to Ibero-American issues, either geographically or culturally. REDIB includes over 2,200 journals from more than 860 research institutions.
- REDALyC: Red de Revistas Scientíficas de America Latina, el Caribe, España y PortugalContents cover health & life sciences, social sciences and humanities. Most of the articles are written in Spanish or Portuguese. This database includes over 620 academic journals. All articles are available full-text. The interface is available in Spanish, Portuguese, English and French.