Law Librarian
Journal/Publication Indexes
Provide citations to periodicals, books, and other titles. Indexes are searchable by a number of different access points (i.e. subject, author, title).
Unless otherwise noted, the databases below are licensed for use by UW Madison students, faculty, and staff via Wiscworld. To access, go to the UW-Law Library home page at http://library.law.wisc.edu. Click on "Electronic Resources," then "Journals & News Articles." Then follow the links to appropriate database.
Legal Periodicals
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Full Text and RetrospectiveAccessible via the UW Madison Libraries home page (see paragraph above); via Westlaw (ILP); via LexisNexis (LAWREV; ILP); and in print format, under the title Index to Legal Periodicals and Books. Volumes are located on the periodical index tables in the Grand Reading Room.
1) Contains: Citations to articles, bibliographies, book reviews, and other titles from 891 legal periodicals (law reviews and law journals). Includes some full text. Also contains citations to more than 2000 law books.
2) Coverage: Articles: 1908 to present; Books: 1993 to present.
3) Search by: Subject, keyword, date, journal title, court cases, statute. - Legal Resource IndexWestlaw (LRI); LexisNexis (LAWREV; LGIND); and in print format known as the Current Law Index. Volumes are located on the periodical index tables in the Grand Reading Room.
1) Contains: Citations to articles in more than 850 English language legal periodicals and newspapers. Some articles have abstracts.
2) Coverage: 1980 to present.
3) Search by: Subject, keyword, date, journal title, abstract (summary), and more.
Criminal Justice Periodicals
- NCJRS-Available to all over the web.1) Contains: Summaries of more than 160,000 publications on criminal justice, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. More than 1,500 full text publications are also available.
2) Coverage: 1970's to date.
3) Search by: Title, subject, author, NCJ number.
Social Science Periodicals
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide (Family Studies Database)1) Contains: indexing to more than 1800 journals, books, chapters, newsletters, government documents, and dissertations. Covers the educational, medical, psychological and sociological aspects of family literature.
2) Coverage: 1970 to present.
3) Search by: Author/Editor, publication year, periodical, publisher, ISSN or ISBN.
The databases in this section can be accessed via the UW-Madison libraries home page at http://www.library.wisc.edu/.
- PAIS International Computer File (Public Affairs Information Service)1) Contains: Citations to more than 900 journals, books, statistical compilations and other titles on an international scale in the areas of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
2) Coverage: 1972 to present.
3) Search by: Subject , author, title, keyword. - Sociological Abstracts (1963 - )1) Contains: Indexing and abstracting of 2500 worldwide journals in sociology and related disciplines, papers presented at various sociological association meetings, dissertations, book reviews, and selected books.
2) Coverage: 1963 to present. Dissertations are available from 1986.
3) Search by: Subject, author, title, keyword, descriptor, citation, and ten other fields. - Web of Knowledge (1982- )1) Contains: indexing of more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals from a combination of three databases - Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts &
Humanities Citation Index.
2)Coverage: From 1982 to present (Social Sciences Citation Index)
3) Search by: Author, title, and institution. Can also search by cited authors and to find articles sharing one or more cited reference. Possible to search the three databases independently or in any combination.
Ask a Librarian
Need Help?