Law Librarian
Looseleaf Services and Digests
Print Publications that bring together primary and secondary resources concerning a particular area of law. The materials included in this section offer case summaries, commentary, and analysis . West's Education Law Reporter and the online version of BNA's Family Law Reporter offer the full-text of court opinions.
Children/Family Law
- A Digest of Cases of the United States Supreme Court as to Juvenile and Family LawCall Number: KF 503.36 D54/v. 1-2Full-text of U.S. Supreme Court decision related to children and family law, 1962 to 2000. Name of case is in the table of contents and each case is labeled with a subject heading.
- ABA Child Law Practice-Law Library Periodicals, 3rd Floor (Shelved by title)Articles that discuss issues and contain summaries of cases pertinent to the practice of children's law, 1996 to present. Continues ABA Juvenile and Child Welfare Law Reporter, 1986 to 1996 (KF 479 A59 A23). Search by article subject index and case law subject index: http://www.abanet.org/child/clp/index.html
- Family Law ReporterCall Number: Reference Collection KF 501 A3 F36; http://library.law.wisc.edu/eresources/bna.php (1996-present)Weekly analysis of current developments in family law and summaries of important cases, 1974 to present. Search by subject index, table of cases, state table.
Education Law
A Digest of Supreme Court Decisions Affecting Education, 4th ed.
Call Number: CIMC Professional Stacks KF 4114 .Z57 2001Summaries of United States Supreme Court cases pertaining to education through 2000. Search by digest, index, table of cases.School Law Reporter
Call Number: KF 4114 N35Monthly commentary about and analysis of important cases in education law, 1987 to present. Search by table of contents and tables of cases within each issue, topical indexes.- Specialty Law Digests-Education CasesCall Number: Reference Collection, KF 4114 S686Summaries of court decisions relating to education law. Decisions from 1980 to 1987. Search by index, table of cases, digest topics.
- West's Education Law DigestCall Number: Reference Collection, KF 4110.3 W47Citations to and summaries of cases reported in West's Education Law Reporter. Decisions from 1982 to present. Search by table of cases, words and phrases, topic, and key number.
- West's Education Law ReporterCall Number: Reference Collection, KF 4110 A2 W47; Westlaw**Full-text of court opinions and administrative decisions related to education. Also includes articles and case comments that discuss recent rulings and their impact on school policies. Updated through bi-weekly advance sheets. Covers 1982 to present (1986 to present on Westlaw). Search by table of cases, topical index, key number digest in back of each volume, and West's Education Law Digest.
**See II, C.
General
American Law Reports
Call Number: Reference Collection, KF 132 A5; Westlaw**Discussion of state and federal issues with case annotations and selected reports of state and federal appellate court decisions. ALR Federal covers exclusively federal topics. Comes in 5 editions, covering 1919 to present. Coverage for ALR Federal is 1969 to present. Search by ALR Index, ALR Digest, or the "Subjects Annotated" section in each volume.
**Westlaw also has ALR-FAM databases, which contains annotations related to family law. See II, C.- West's Wisconsin Key Number DigestCall Number: Reference Collection, KFW 2457 W47Contains summaries of and citations to Wisconsin appellate court opinions and federal cases within the seventh circuit, 19th century to present. Search by descriptive word index, table of cases, plaintiff-defendant table, topic and key number.
Ask a Librarian
Need Help?