Americans with Disabilities Act Handbook Litigation involving the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) is one of the most significant fields of discrimination-based litigation facing business and government entities today. The Americans with Disabilities Act Handbook provides comprehensive coverage of the ADA's employment, commercial facilities, and public accommodations provisions as well as coverage of the transportation, communication, and federal, local, and state government requirements. In this comprehensive two-volume set, you'll get a complete analysis of the Act and all the forms and case law you'll need to prepare your case. Recognized ADA authority Henry H. Perritt, Jr., clearly defines statutory and regulatory requirements for public and private employers, commercial facilities and places of public accommodation. From in-depth analysis of the statutory definition of disability to practical guidance on all aspects of ADA litigation from complaint through jury instructions, Americans with Disabilities Act Handbook provides the full range of information you need to evaluate and litigate an ADA case successfully. The complete analysis of the rapidly expanding case law is organized by frequently litigated topics, like wheelchair access and AIDS discrimination. In-depth analysis is provided for the numerous federal and state cases and significant regulatory activity by the EEOC cropping up each year. You'll also get thorough analysis of how the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 relates to ADA. The statutory definition of disability and the concept of being "otherwise qualified" for a job are also discussed in-depth. And you'll see exactly what employers, business owners, and providers of governmental services must do to make "reasonable accommodation." Plus, a comprehensive section that organizes case law by type of physical and mental impairment and accommodation by type of job requirement is provided, making analysis easier. The Sixth Edition is significantly revised and recently updated coverage includes: New case law allowing parallel § 1983 claim for ADA violation Case law on being qualified when other employees can perform essential functions  New case law on attendance as an essential function of jobs New case law discussion on proof of substantial limitation on daily life activities New case discussion on employees who fail to participate effectively in exploring reasonable accommodation Limitation on requirements to accommodate absenteeism Obligation to make accommodations to lessen pain Requirement to accommodate deafness by providing sign-language interpreter Requiring employee applicants to pay for diagnostic tests New case law on direct threat defense New case law on retaliation New case discussion on who is a prevailing party entitled to receive attorneys' fees New case law on class actions Judge and jury roles and sequencing when both legal and equitable claims are pleaded Preclusive effect of claim for Social Security disability benefits New case law holding that exhaustion of Equal Employment Opportunity Commission remedies is not jurisdictional Rule 11 sanctions New case law on availability of front pay Case law on plaintiff burden to resist summary judgment New case law on religious exception New case law discussion on the Younger doctrine

In recent decades, laws and workplace policies have emerged that seek to address the "balance" between work and family. Millions of women in the U.S. take some time off when they give birth or adopt a child, making use of "family-friendly" laws and policies in order to spend time recuperating and to initiate a bond with their children. The Balance Gap traces the paths individual women take in understanding and invoking work/life balance laws and policies. Conducting in-depth interviews with women in two distinctive workplace settings-public universities and the U.S. military-Sarah Cote Hampson uncovers how women navigate the laws and the unspoken cultures of their institutions. Activists and policymakers hope that family-friendly law and policy changes will not only increase women's participation in the workplace, but also help women experience greater workplace equality. As Hampson shows, however, these policies and women's abilities to understand and utilize them have fallen short of fully alleviating the tensions that women across the nation are still grappling with as they try to reconcile their work and family responsibilities.

This Concise Hornbook explains the intricate doctrines and frameworks of proof that courts have developed in interpreting federal employment discrimination statutes. It provides in-depth treatment of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA) and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Designed for use by law students, scholars, and practitioners, the book identifies the critical elements of disparate treatment and disparate impact theory and proof requirements for claims of harassment and retaliation. Separate sections address distinctive issues relating to religious discrimination, pregnancy and caregiver discrimination, pay equity suits and discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity. The book covers U.S. Supreme Court precedents as well as developments and trends in the lower courts.

The Shield of Silence compellingly argues that sexual harassment and other negative behaviors will not be stopped unless the condition that drives victims and bystanders into silence - the overriding fear that reporting misconduct will result in retaliation - is eliminated. Combining fascinating research, extensive interviews, and strategic recommendations for addressing workplace misconduct, it is a must-read for anyone interested in the ongoing conversation about what's acceptable, and what isn't, in the workplace. This book combines fascinating research, extensive interviews, and strategic recommendations for addressing workplace misconduct. Its premise is that sexual harassment and other negative behaviors will not be stopped unless the condition that drives victims and bystanders into silence - the overriding fear that reporting misconduct will result in retaliation - is eliminated