AFRICAN 202: Introductory Topics in African Cultural Studies: We are What We Eat: Food as a Vehicle for Culture in Africa and Beyond (Summer 2022) : Find Articles
Article Databases
Library databases may be accessed from anywhere, anytime. You may need to login using your NetID.
Scholars working in disciplines often make their research available as articles in discipline-specific journals or as chapter in books. Of course, they may also produce books or monographs. This article research literature, and reviews of books, are made accessible through disciplinary or subject-specific databases. Below are databases that are general/multidisciplinary or related to specific subjects. Food Studies research can be approached from the perspectives of many disciplines or subjects.
General / Multidisciplinary Databases
- Articles SearchSearch across some of the Library's database subscriptions (a few of the resources below) but not all.
- Academic SearchCover many subjects and includes a variety of source types from magazines and newspapers to scholarly journal articles.
- Google ScholarScholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research from a wide variety of sources.
- JSTORArchive of scholarly journals and ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics. Journal coverage is volume 1 of each title until 3-5 years ago (embargo period varies by title). In Advanced Search, you can filter your search results to articles in journals of specific fields such as African Studies, Anthropology, Folklore, Food Studies, History, etc..
Selected Subject-Specific Databases
- Anthropological LiteratureAnthropology database (EBSCO) that provides access to literature in the fields of anthropology, archaeology and related fields. Includes sources in more than 50 languages.
- Historical AbstractsHistory database (EBSCO) that provides access to journal articles that cover topics related to world history. For U.S. and Canadian history, see America: History and Life.
- MLA International BibliographyModern Language Association International Bibliography includes critical works on literature, language, linguistics, film, and folklore.
- SocINDEX with Full TextCovers all aspects of sociology, including abortion, criminal justice, ethnicity and race, gender studies, politics, religion, social work, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and more.
Additional Databases
- Food Studies OnlineCollection of archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us.
- World Folklore & Folklife DatabaseThis resource provides nformation related to the myths, legends, and folktales of a particular people, as well as their geography, history, religion, beliefs, rituals, ceremonies, holidays, festivals, music, dance, food, drink, arts, crafts, and challenges of the modern world.
Locating Article Databases
The following are different ways to access databases on the Library website for searching for articles:
- Browse By Subject/TypeOrganization of databases by subject or discipline
- Introductory DatabasesShort list of databases by subject
- Top 10 Databases10 most popular databases
- UW Libraries Search Box – Dropdown OptionsOptions allow searching a subset of the Libraries' resources (books, articles, journals, etc.)
Searching Specific Journals
Searching for a Specific Journal
If you want to search a specific journal title (for example, Africa Today or Journal of African Cultural Studies), follow these steps:
- Start at the Libraries Web Site.
- Click Catalog drop-down menu.
- Select Journals from the drop-down menu.
- Type in the journal title in the search box next to Journals and click Submit
- Click the name of the journal you're interested in to see the full record.
- Check for access to the journal, whether online or physical access. For online access, click View Online. You may see one or more resource links. You may also see dates noting to which years the resource provides full text access to the journal.
Searching for Articles within Specific Journals
After clicking a resource link in the Catalog entry for the journal to go to full text of the journal, you cansearch for articles within that journal. To do that follow these steps:
- Search for keywords in the journal page or go to Advanced Search.
- If you use Advanced Search, you lkely will need to specify the journal you want to search (otherwise you will search all journals from that publisher).