COM ARTS 418: Gender, Sexuality and the Media (Fall 2024) : Database Search Strategies

This research guide will help those looking for resources on gender and sexuality in media, specifically those in COM ARTS 418.

Library Catalog

Google Scholar

Searching Within Databases

Searching Within Databases

Suggested Databases

Academic Search Large, multidisciplinary EBSCO database encompassing most topics.
Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Index Archive Provides access to non-mainstream content from a variety of cultural and social viewpoints across the sociopolitical spectrum.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) EBSCO database covering advertising, marketing, film/video, game studies, journalism, communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
Film & Television Literature Index (FTLI) Articles, film reviews, and book reviews related to film and television from 30 countries. Includes both scholarly and popular film and TV sources.
GenderWatch Covers gender, women, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) issues from an array of academic, radical, community, and independent presses.
Independent Voices Open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, produced during the latter half of the 20th century.
JSTOR Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics. Journal coverage is volume 1 of each title until 3-5 years ago (embargo period varies by title).
Project Muse Journals and ebooks in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage in art, anthropology, literature, film, theatre, history, ethnic and cultural studies, music, philosophy, religion, psychology, sociology and women's studies.
Women's Studies International Women's Studies International indexes women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused books, book chapters, journal and magazine articles, dissertations, and reports from throughout the world, starting in about 1972. Most material cited is in English; some in French-Canadian, Spanish, or other languages.