The Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance is an interdisciplinary research database containing documentation centering on the classical tradition, a focus of Renaissance studies. Registered are the antique monuments known in the Renaissance together with the related Renaissance documents in the form of texts and images, and related information about locations, persons and periods as well as bibliographic data. Among the written sources are inventories of collections, travelogues, archival documents, biographies of artists etc. Information on pictorial sources includes drawings from sketchbooks as well as single sheets and graphic arts. Only a limited range of paintings, sculptures, medals and works of arts and crafts can be found. The Census is a useful tool of research, not only in the field of art history and archaeology, but also for any discipline focussing on the afterlife of the antiquity. (Updated daily)
Available to everyone.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory, or ulrichsweb.com (formerly Ulrich's Plus), provides detailed information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription. Look at the "Abstracting & Indexing" subsection for information on which licensed databases include coverage of the periodical. (Updated weekly)
Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW Madison students, faculty and staff only.