- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Positive Youth Development
- Books, Documents & Digital Collections
Positive Youth Development : Books, Documents & Digital Collections
Open Educational Resources
- OER CommonsPublic digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.
- Open Textbook LibraryTextbooks funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed.
Agencies and Organizations
- youth.govFederal site supporting effective youth programming. Included are facts, funding, and tools to assess community assets, generate maps of local and federal resources, search for evidence-based youth programs, and keep up-to-date on the latest, youth-related news.
- WISELearn Resources LibraryWisconsin Department of Public Instruction's digital library and network. Explore the resources dedicated to curriculum, instruction, professional learning, and collaboration.
- United Nations for Youth, Department of Economic and Social AffairsThe UN's Focal Point on Youth aims to build an awareness of the global situation of young people, as well as promote their rights and aspirations. See its flagship publication, "World Youth Report". Each report treats a special theme from civic engagement to entrepreneurship, and more.
Library Catalog
Book Discovery: Google Books and WorldCat
- Google Books (Advanced Search)Many titles in Google Books will include a limited preview of the text that can help you determine whether you may want to borrow a copy. (Some titles may include the complete text).
- WorldCatWorldCat is a catalog to the millions of books, serials, audiovisual media, maps, archives, manuscripts, scores (and more) held by libraries nationally (some internationally)--including UW-Madison and the Library of Congress. Importantly, WorldCat features a link to place Interlibrary Loan requests for items.
Selected E-Books from the Collection
After-School Programs to Promote Positive Youth Development by The first volume of this SpringerBrief presents a series of papers compiled from a conference about how after-school programs may be implemented to promote positive youth development (PYD) hosted by Youth-Nex, the University of Virginia Center to Promote Effective Youth Development. This volume reviews the importance of after-school programs for PYD and discusses key components of effective after-school programs. It also discusses issues related to the evaluation and measurement of quality in after-school programs. In addition, the brief presents suggestions for how researchers, policy makers, and practitioners can move the field forward and maximize the potential of after-school time and programs for promoting positive youth development for children and adolescents. Topics featured in this brief include: The history of the relationship between after-school programs and positive youth development. Specific features of programs that are important for advancing positive youth development. Issues in and approaches to measuring quality in after-school programs. The Quality, Engagement, Skills, Transfer (QuEST) model and its use for measuring effective after-school programs. A case study evaluation of the Girls on the Run program. After-School Programs to Promote Positive Youth Development, Volume 1, is a must-have resource for policy makers and related professionals, graduate students, and researchers in child and school psychology, family studies, public health, social work, law/criminal justice, and sociology.
ISBN: 9783319591315Publication Date: 2017-07-13Toward Positive Youth Development by Social settings have enormous power to promote or hinder positive youth development. Researchers and practitioners know a great deal about features of schools and programs for youth that affect development, but much less about how to transform settings to bring about these desirable features. This book shows how to harness the power of settings. It shifts the debate from simply enhancing youth outcomes at the individual level to improving the settings of youths' daily lives. The book offers researchers and practitioners blueprints for creating and changing influential settings including classrooms, schools, universities, out-of-school time programs, ethnic systems of supplementary education, and other community-based programs.Leading scholars in psychology, education, human development, sociology, anthropology, economics, law, and public policy discuss a wide array of social change strategies, and describe how to measure key features of settings as a target and guide for change. The authors also demonstrate how larger social structures - such as school districts, community coalitions, community data resources - can support change. Many of the chapters describe ways to make settings work for all youth, including those marginalized by reason of race, ethnicity, social class, or sexual orientation. Toward Positive Youth Development will guide researchers, educators, administrators and policy makers to improve schools and youth programs for all of America's youth.
ISBN: 0199716595Publication Date: 2008-01-01Well-Being of Youth and Emerging Adults Across Cultures by The current volume presents new empirical data on well-being of youth and emerging adults from a global international perspective. Its outstanding features are the focus on vast geographical regions (e.g., Europe, Asia, Africa, North and South America), and on strengths and resources for optimal well-being. The international and multidisciplinary contributions address the complexities of young people's life in a variety of cultural settings to explore how key developmental processes such as identity, religiosity and optimism, social networks, and social interaction in families and society at large promote optimal and successful adaptation. The volume draws on core theoretical models of human development to highlight the applicability of these frameworks to culturally diverse youth and emerging adults as well as universalities and cultural specifics in optimal outcomes. With its innovative and cutting-edge approaches to cultural, theoretical and methodological issues, the book offers up-to-date evidence and insights for researchers, practitioners and policy makers in the fields of cross-cultural psychology, developmental science, human development, sociology, and social work.
ISBN: 3319683624Publication Date: 2018-01-26The Youth Development Handbook by What are the sorts of environments in which youth thrives, and how do we cultivate such environments to promote optimal development and positive behavior in youth? The Youth Development Handbook gives students and practitioners in Development Psychology access to current theory and research along with illustrations of good practice. The main section is organized around the contexts in which adolescents grow up - families and neighbourhoods, peer groups, schools, youth groups and recreation groups, workplaces, religious organizations, health centers, youth courts, cyberspace. Each chapter explores the application of youth development principles to its context, drawing on current research. The next section addresses evaluation, funding, and community-wide initiatives. The concluding chapter identifies multidisciplinary themes, including youth participation, mentoring, universal versus targeted approaches, diversity, and evidence-based practice.
ISBN: 9780761988724Publication Date: 2003-10-09
Remote Delivery Services
Use our Remote Delivery services to have books, DVDs, and other physical materials sent to you.
- From the Library Catalog record, click the "Request for Pickup" button.
- Sign-in with your NetID/password.
- Choose Remote Delivery as the Pickup Location and enter your shipping address.
All items can be returned using the pre-paid return mailer.
Interlibrary Loan
If you are unable to locate an item you need in the library catalog, place a request using our Interlibrary Loan Services.
- Sign in to your Interlibrary Loan Account using your NetID/password.
- Under "My Account", click "Change Pickup Library and Verify Email Address.
- Choose "Remote Delivery" from the drop-down menu and click "Submit Information".
- Compete the request form. Include your mailing address in the Notes field.
(Articles and book chapters are delivered electronically regardless of your location).
Digital Collections, Imagery
- UW Digitized Collections (Browse by Collections)UWDCC works collaboratively with UW System faculty and staff to create and provide access to digital resources that support the teaching and research needs of the UW community. Resources include books, journal series, manuscript collections, photographic images, slides, maps, prints, posters, audio, and video. Resources within the collections are free and publicly accessible online.
- Search UW Digitized Collections (UWDC)Search for images, audio-recordings, and more. For instance, try "4-H" or "4-H club". Filter to collections, formats, topics, or locations.