- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Positive Youth Development
- Research Articles, Data & Statistics
Positive Youth Development : Research Articles, Data & Statistics
Getting to the Full Article
Follow (Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:
- access the full article (when available)
- determine if the journal is available in print (Library Catalog)
- request a copy of the article (PDF) if the full article is not available online (Request a Copy link)
If you already have a citation, use the Citation Search to find the full article.
Statistics
- Childstats.gov, Forum on Child and Family StatisticsAccess to its current report, "America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being".
- Digest of Education Statistics, National Center for Education StatisticsSet of tables covering the broad field of US education from pre-kindergarten through graduate school.
Searching Tips for Online Databases
- Use AND to combine search terms; retrieve records with those terms, in any order: friends AND communication
- Use OR to combine similar search terms or synonyms: friends OR peers
- Use quotation marks ( " ") to search a required phrase: "interpersonal communication"
- Use an asterisk ( * ) to retrieve singular and plural forms or suffixes for search terns: friend* = friend, friends, friendly or friendship
- Review "subject headings" or "descriptors" to identify additional and useful search terms.
- Apply limits or filters to your results (by date, document type, or other).
Selecting and Searching Databases by Subject or Type
Select databases from the library home page (library.wisc.edu). Use dropdown menu from Catalog button to go to Databases. OR, select the database link from the Find page. Options include:
- Search by name of database (for example, "ERIC") from the database menu.
- Use Browse by Subject/Type to choose databases that find articles (and more) in a subject area.
- Visit Top 10 Databases or Introductory to choose from a selection of popular databases.
Note: An "Articles Search" can also be run from the library home page. The Articles Search runs a search within several databases simultaneously. Apply filters by date, source, document type, (and more).
Consider the databases listed, below, for conducting your search of the research literature.
- APA PsycInfoAccess to the research literature of psychology, behavioral science and mental health including intersections with the psychological aspects of such disciplines as medicine, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)Access to research in education including content from journals, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and more.
- Family & Society Studies WorldwideComprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare.
- Google ScholarMulti-disciplinary search engine to scholarly articles.
Note: Accessing Google Scholar through our libraries will help you to bypass paywalls (i.e retrieve more full-text through our subscriptions). - Professional Development CollectionCollection of electronic information especially for professional educators. This collection offers information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice.
- SocINDEXCovers all aspects of sociology, including abortion, criminal justice, ethnicity and race, gender studies, politics, religion, social work, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and more.
- Web of ScienceCollection of databases that index the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, and more. Includes citation network data.
- What Works Clearinghouse, Institute of Education Sciences, US Dept. of EducationSource for scientific evidence on education programs, products, practices, and policies.
Strategies for Searching within Specific Journals
Strategy #1 (the easy method):
Follow links to available full-text from the catalog record. Once within the full-text interface--either through the publisher's Website or another database interface--look for the search box to run a search for your topic within the contents of that specific journal.
Important Tip: If running a search within the contents of a journal and looking for the most recently-published articles there, be sure to sort your retrieval by "most recent date" or "newest first".
Strategy #2 (more challenging but our librarians can help!)
Many of the research literature databases can enable you to limit your search to a specific journal, provided that the database covers that journal. For instance, using databases such as Scopus or Web of Science, enter the journal name into one of the search boxes and set the drop-down field limit to source title or publication name (depending upon the database). Enter your topic terms within another box and run the search.
See example from Web of Science:
