Skip to Main Content

ASIALANG 475 Advanced Topics in Asian Translation: Traditional Chinese Fiction (Fall 2025) : Primary Sources in Chinese

Primary Sources in Chinese - Digitalized Ancient Chinese Materials

Diaolong Full-text Database of Chinese and Japanese Ancient Books 雕龍: 中日古籍全文資料庫 (NetID required)

  • It contains multiple full texts of ancient Chinese books. The database provides the Dao zang 道藏, Dao zang ji yao 道藏辑要, Si bu cong kan 四部叢刊, Yongle da dian 永樂大典, Gu jin tu shu ji cheng 古今圖書集成, Si ku quan shu 四庫全書, and various local gazetteers. 
  • The database accommodates up to 5 users simultaneously. Kindly log out after use to make room for other users.
     

Scripta Sinica 漢籍: 電子文獻資料庫 (NetID required)

  • It is a collection of about 430 full-text Chinese pre-modern works in all subject areas. The digital resource provides the categories of Jing 經, Shi 史, Zi 子, Ji 集.
  • Please select "授權使用" when accessing the front page.
     

Chinese Rare Books: Harvard Library

  • It provides full-text access to a digitized collection of over 9,600 rare Chinese books.
  • Sourced from Harvard Library.
     

书格

  • This open access resource includes mainly high-definition color image version PDF format. 
  • The books' publication dates range from Song to Qing Dynasties.
     

Ming Qing Women's Writings

  • This digital collection showcases the literary works of women during the late imperial era in China, spanning the years from 1368 to 1911. The platform comprises a virtual library, enriched by the digital scholarly tools meticulously crafted by the McGill Library Digital Initiatives team. Furthermore, it includes direct links to individual authors' profiles within the China Biographical Database, hosted by Harvard University.
  • It is open access.