Selected Resources for Graduate Students in AAE : Find Research Articles & Data

Browse this guide to identify library resources to support your research, instruction, and study at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Selecting and Searching Databases by Subject or Type

You can access databases from the library home page (library.wisc.edu). Use the dropdown menu at the Catalog button to navigate to Databases.

There are several ways to browse and to select databases:

1) Search by the title of the database (for example, "EconLit").

2) Use the Browse by Subject/Type page to discover databases that index literature on your research topic.

3) Visit the Top 10 Databases page to quickly access a selection of popularly-used databases.

Consider the databases listed, below, for conducting your search of the research literature.

AgEcon: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics
Collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.
Agriculture and Environmental Science
Cross-disciplinary database of full-text content along with indexing of global literature across these fields and related disciplines.
Agris (FAO, Agriculture, United Nations)
International database of 2.6 million+ references to world literature covering all aspects of agricultural sciences and technology. Includes gray literature not often available through other publication and distribution channels.
CAB Abstracts
Comprehensive database of the applied life sciences including animal and crop production, environmental impacts, nutrition, and veterinary science.
EconLit
Covers literature in the field of economics, including journal articles, dissertations, working papers, as well as books and book reviews.
EconPapers, "Economics at Your Fingertips"
Provides access to a collection of online working papers and journal articles from1100+ archives operated by research organizations, academic departments and publishers worldwide. Majority of the full text files are freely available.
Eldis Gateway to Development Information
Database of news and freely-available documents concerning international development and its challenges.
Google Scholar
Multi-disciplinary Web search engine to scholarly articles.
Note: Accessing Google Scholar through our libraries will help you to bypass paywalls (i.e retrieve more full-text through our subscriptions).
GreenFILE
Access to scholarly, government, and general-interest sources addressing environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments.Topics covered include climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Scopus
Large, multidisciplinary database that covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
Web of Science
Collection of databases that index the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, and more. Includes citation network data.
World Bank Data
Online access to comprehensive set of data on living standards around the globe--some 2,000 indicators, including hundreds that go back 50 years.

Getting to the Full Article

Follow (Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:

access the full article (when available)
determine if the journal is available in print (Library Catalog)
request a copy of the article (PDF) if the full article is not available online (Request a Copy link)

If you already have a citation, use the Citation Search to find the full article.