Table of Contents
Libraries
vs. Archives
- What’s
the Difference?
- Libraries
vs. Archives (comparative chart)
Find
an Archive
- UW-Madison
Area Archives
- Find
an Archive Near You
- Find
a Women’s Archive Near You
- Find
an Archive by Content
- Find
the Papers of an Individual or Organization
Women’s
Archives
- Help
These Lists Grow
- Women’s
Archives in the United States
- International
Women’s Archives
- Professional
Women’s Archives
- Women
of Color Archives
- Lesbian
Archives
- Jewish
Women’s Archives
- Christian
Women’s Archives
Visiting
an Archive
- Preliminary
Research
- Contact
the Archive
- What
to Expect on a Visit
Researching
in Archives
- Archival
Organization
- Archival
Catalogs
- Using
“Finding Aids”
- Tutorials
and Manuals
Women’s
History Research
- Subject
Terms
- Guides
to Archival Collections
- Searching
Archival Catalogs
- Think
Like an Archivist
Primary
Sources
- Published
Archival Materials
- Exhibits
and Items Online
- More
on Primary Sources
Photo Archive

Photo by Pete Ashton
Hello
Beginning to do archival research can be confusing and intimidating.
Archives use different organizational systems than libraries and have more restrictive access systems than libraries. Understanding the differences between libraries and archives, however, can help you get the most out of archival research.
This guide seeks to promote women's history related archival research by providing resources for finding archives and relevant archival collections, explaining archival organization and gathering together relevant links and references.
Ways to Use This Guide
You can use this guide in a number of ways depending on the scope of your research project:
|
Quick and Dirty: |
Follow links and use search tips to find digitized archival materials available online or reproductions of archival materials in a library near you. See the Primary Sources tab. |
|
Convenient: |
Find an archive near you and use tips to find women's and gender history related materials in their collections. |
|
In-Depth: |
Find the papers of a particular person, organization or institution OR find an archive devoted to your research topic. Get tips and explanations that will help you get the most out of your research time when you visit. |
|
Comprehensive: |
Read the whole guide and combine numerous strategies as appropriate to different aspects of your research project. |
Piano Roll Boxes

Photo by Power House Museum
Women's Studies Librarian |
Contact Info Women's Studies Librarian, University of Wisconsin System 430 Memorial Library, 728 State Street, Madison, WI 53706 608-263-5754 Send Email Subjects: Gender / Women's Studies |
Guide Creator

Virginia Corvid, a library and archival studies graduate student, created this guide as part of a practicum at the Women's Studies Librarian's Office. Virginia would like to thank the Women's Studies Librarian, Phyllis Holman Weisbard, for all of her assistance and advice on this project. For updates to this guide, email Phyllis.


![[logo] Crest of the University of Wisconsin-Madison](http://library.wisc.edu/images/crest.png)
![[logo] Ask a Librarian](http://library.wisc.edu/images/ask.png)


Loading...
