Human Sexuality: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Abortion
Organizations
- American Civil Liberties UnionInformation on reproductive rights from the American Civil Liberties Union Freedom Network.
- American Life LeagueThe American Life League is a religious organization committed to educating the public on abortion, bioethics, birth control, euthanasia, and stem cell research.
- The Guttmacher InstituteThe Guttmacher Institute is a non-profit organization focused on sexual and reproductive health research, policy analysis and public education.
- National Abortion and Reproductive Rights Action LeagueInformation on reproductive rights from the political arm of the pro-choice movement.
- National Abortion Federation (NAF)"The National Abortion Federation (NAF) is the professional association of abortion providers in the United States and Canada. We believe that women should be trusted to make private medical decisions in consultation with their health care providers."
- National Organization for WomenInformation on abortion issues from the National Organization for Women.
- Planned ParenthoodPlanned Parenthood Federation of America, Inc. is the world's largest reproductive health care organization and was founded in 1916 by Margaret Sanger.
- Planned Parenthood of Wisconsin"Our mission is to empower all individuals to manage their sexual and reproductive health through patient services, education and advocacy.
- Pregnancy Helpline of Madison"Pregnancy Helpline maintains the belief that every baby deserves to be born and that every mother deserves the help necessary to carry her baby to term."
- Wisconsin Right to LifeInformation from Wisconsin's Right to Life organization.
About This Guide
This guide includes sources dealing with the medical, legal, religious and ethical issues related to abortion.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: abortion and laws, abortion and politic*, abortion and (birth control or contraception), abortion and religio*, abortion and teen*, rape and emergency contraception, plan B and morning after, RU486 or mifepristone, abortion and civil rights.
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center(OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Books
New Handbook for a Post-Roe America (ebook) by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781644210598Publication Date: 2021-03-30
Pro-Life, Pro-Choice: Shared Values in the Abortion Debate by ISBN: 9780826519917Publication Date: 2014-09-05
Obstacle Course: the everyday struggle to get an abortion in America by Call Number: ebookISBN: 0520973720Publication Date: 2020-02-18
Abortion Politics, Mass Media, and Social Movements in America by ISBN: 9781107069237Publication Date: 2014-12-22
Reproductive Politics: what everyone needs to know by ISBN: 9780199811410Publication Date: 2013-03-28
Tiny You: a western history of the anti-abortion movement by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780520295865Publication Date: 2020-04-07
About Abortion: terminating pregnancy in twenty-first-century America (ebook) by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780674977297Publication Date: 2017-03-27
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic Search CompleteA general/multi-disciplinary database with articles on many topics.
- SocINDEXIncludes full text articles from over 500 sociology/social science journals.
- PsycINFOIncludes articles on Psychology related topics.
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Statistics And Data
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)Abortion statistics for the United States.
- 2012 Census Data.U.S Abortion Rates
Videos
- The Last Abortion ClinicFRONTLINE investigates the steady decline in the number of physicians and clinics performing abortions, and focuses on local political battles in states like Mississippi, where only a single clinic performs the controversial procedure.
- Missing Women: Female-Selective Abortion and InfanticideThis program unflinchingly examines...the reasons for the systematic elimination of females in Asia and considers the implications of the dramatic demographic disruption that will likely occur as a result of this growing imbalance between the sexes.
- Silent ChoicesIllustrates the abortion issue through the lives of African American women, with both interviews and dramatic content. Features the personal experiences of several such women, some of whom chose to have abortions, and some who are staunchly pro-life.
- Unborn in the USALooks at the pro-life movement in the United States over the past 35 years, offering insight into both the religious and political ideologies of this social movement.