Gender and Sexual Identity: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Gender Identity/Expression
Organizations
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Index ArchiveThe combined search of Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Index Archive includes entries from more than 300 alternative, radical, and left publications. Subjects covered include social and cultural theory, socialism, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gays and lesbians (LGBT).
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The voices of the Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European and multi-ethnic communities can be heard.
About Gender Identity and Gender Expression
This research guide provides resources on gender identity and gender expression.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: gender expression, gender identity, gender studies, nonbinary, gender non-conforming, gender fluid, trans men, trans women, transgender, genderqueer, two-spirit, cisgender, feminine, masculine
Books and Film
Trans Allyship Workbook by
Call Number: HQ77.9 .S545 2017ISBN: 9780990636915Publication Date: 2017-10-01
LGBTQ Stats: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer People by the Numbers by Call Number: HQ76.3.U5 D47 2017 or ebookISBN: 9781620972441Publication Date: 2017-01-24
Understanding Gender Dysphoria: Navigating Transgender Issues in a Changing Culture by Call Number: BT708 .Y37 2015 or ebookISBN: 9780830828593Publication Date: 2015-06-22
My Gender Workbook, Updated: A Step-by-Step Guide to Achieving World Peace Through Gender Anarchy and Sex Positivity by Call Number: HQ1075 B69 2013 or ebookISBN: 9780415538657Publication Date: 2013-04-17
Sex/Gender: Biology in a Social World by Call Number: HQ1075 .F387 2012 or ebookISBN: 9780203127971Publication Date: 2012-04-17
Transgender History by Call Number: HQ77.9 S77 2008 or ebookISBN: 9781580052245Publication Date: 2008-05-06
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- Sociological AbstractsCovers international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, including culture and social structure, family and social welfare, social development and differentiation, and women's studies.
- LGBT Life with Full TextTopics covered include LGBT Studies, issues affecting the lives of LGBT people, queer theory, and more.
- GenderWatchTopics cover gender, women, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) issues.
Overview Resources - Background Information
- LGBTQIA Resource Center GlossaryAn evolving list of terms and definitions that provide a starting point for discussion and understanding.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.