Entertainment and Popular Culture: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Celebrity
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- International Association For Media and Communication ResearchThe International Association for Media and Communication Research - IAMCR - is the preeminent worldwide professional organisation in the field of media and communication research.
About Celebrity
This guide provides resources for those are interested in the role celebrity plays in culture, with a focus on its social aspects.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: Celebrity OR Celebrity Culture OR Fame, Fame AND Social Aspects, Celebrity AND Internet, Celebrity AND Influence, Celebrity AND Politics, Celebrity AND Gender, Celebrity AND Feminism, Celebrity AND Suicide, Celebrity AND Death, Celebrity AND Endorsements, Celebrity AND United States, Celebrity AND China, Celebrity AND Brazil (etc.)
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoint in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Books
Celebrity Nation: How America Evolved into a Culture of Fans and Followers by Call Number: HM621 .J66 2023ISBN: 9780807065655Publication Date: 2023-05-09
Celebrity: A History of Fame by Call Number: HM1176 .D68 2019 or ebookISBN: 1479852430Publication Date: 2019-03-26
Liking Ike: Eisenhower, Advertising, and the Rise of Celebrity Politics by Call Number: E835 .B53 2016ISBN: 9780190278182Publication Date: 2016-08-25
Celebrity Cultures: An Introduction by Call Number: HM621 B37 2015 or ebookISBN: 9781446249277Publication Date: 2014-12-19
Keeping up the Kardashian Brand: Celebrity, Materialism, and Sexuality by Call Number: PN1992.77 K445 M33 2014ISBN: 9780739177150Publication Date: 2013-10-29
Celebrity Culture and the American Dream: Stardom and Social Mobility by Call Number: HN57 S774 2011ISBN: 9780415886789Publication Date: 2011-01-10
A Short History of Celebrity by Call Number: D210 I525 2010 or ebookISBN: 9780691135625Publication Date: 2010-07-21
Articles- Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchAcademic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. A total of 8,500 journals are indexed and abstracted.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC)Covers more than 700 journal titles and includes full text for over 400 journals.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine ArchiveAccess to periodicals from the film and and entertainment industries from the United States and United Kingdom from the late 1800's through 2000.
- Sociological AbstractsThe Sociological Abstracts database indexes and abstracts 2,000 worldwide journals in sociology. Relevant dissertations have been added since 1986.
- JSTORProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.