The Environment: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Nuclear Waste
Organizations
- Office of Nuclear EnergyAn office within the United States Department of Energy, focusing on domestic nuclear energy production.
- Clean Wisconsin"Our mission is to protect and preserve Wisconsin's clean water, air and natural heritage."
- Council for a Livable World"Our mission is to increase peace and security and to reduce the threat of war and nuclear weapons by representing our members in Washington and electing congressional candidates who support our goals."
- Nuclear Energy InstituteMembership includes companies that operate nuclear power plants, design and engineering firms, fuel suppliers and service companies, companies involved in nuclear medicine and nuclear industrial applications, radionuclide and radiopharmaceutical companies, universities and research laboratories, and labor unions.
- Greenpeace InternationalGreenpeace is an independent global campaigning organisation that acts to change attitudes and behaviour, to protect and conserve the environment and to promote peace.
About Nuclear Waste
This Research Guide focuses on of nuclear waste. Nuclear waste is a by-product of nuclear technology, and is usually radioactive.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: "nuclear industry", "radioactive wastes - management", "nuclear energy", "radioactive waste", "radioactive waste disposal"
Overview Resources - Background Information
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterProvides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- Resources for the FutureResources for the Future (RFF) is an independent, nonpartisan organization that conducts rigorous economic research and analysis to help leaders make better decisions and craft smarter policies about natural resources and the environment.
- U.S. Nuclear Regulatory ComissionThe NRC licenses and regulates the Nation's civilian use of radioactive materials to protect public health and safety, promote the common defense and security, and protect the environment.
Books
The Ethics of Nuclear Energy: Risk, Justice, and Ethics in the Post-Fukushima Era by Call Number: TK9152 .E84 2015 or ebookISBN: 9781107054844Publication Date: 2015-08-07
Why We Need Nuclear Power: The Environmental Case by Call Number: TK9153 F69 2014 or ebookISBN: 9780199344574Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Natural Disaster and Nuclear Crisis in Japan by Call Number: HV600 T64 N37 2012ISBN: 9780203124109Publication Date: 2012-04-05
Nuclear Energy: What Everyone Needs to Know by Call Number: TK9145 F47 2011ISBN: 0199759464Publication Date: 2011-05-17
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- Applied Science Full TextCovers physics, engineering, geology, math, and other applied sciences and technologies.
Statistics and Data
- Data Citation IndexThe Data Citation Index provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation.
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspapers Research GuideDescribes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on mircofilm through the UW-Madison Libraries.