Compiled By
This guide was compiled by U.S. Air Force Captain Riley Slattery in the Fall of 2023. To the extent they may be reflected by this guide, any views espoused by the included materials are not necessarily those of the U.S. Department of Defense or the Department of the Air Force.
Welcome to the Space Law & War in Outer Space research guide! On this page you will find a mix of books, treaties, governmental authorities, journal publications and databases which provide a well-rounded overview of the body of law governing space-related activities, otherwise known as Space law. The links provided within the blue columns will take you to pages covering more specialized topics within Space law, focusing on the Law of Armed Conflict and military uses of outer space. Each page is intended as a starting point for those interested in the relevant topic, serving as a foundation upon which one's research may be built.
Books
-
Space Law
by
ISBN: 9781472447821Publication Date: 2017-12-18Francis Lyall and Paul B. Larsen have been involved in teaching and researching space law for over 50 years. This edition of their well-received text constitutes a broad overview of many legal applications in space, including space tourism, telecommunications, the ITU and finance. With an extensive citation of the literature, the discussion provides a comprehensive and well-rounded source for both students and practitioners. -
The Geostationary Ring
by
ISBN: 9789004406919Publication Date: 2020-06-26The Geostationary Ring: Practice and Law addresses numerous physical aspects of one of the most highly sought-after orbits which serves as the backbone for international satellite communications. The book analyses the evolution of the Geostationary Orbit's use, coordination and related disputes, along with sovereignty claims over segments of the orbit. The author, Martha Mejía-Kaiser, discusses the increasing population of this orbital region with operational spacecraft, its pollution with man-made space debris, and previews active space removal by external systems. Based on empirical data, the author addresses key legal questions with regard to the benefit and interests of all nations, equitable access and its economic and rationale use. -
An Introduction to International Space Law and Space Laws of the United States
by
ISBN: 9781788117883Publication Date: 2022-09-20International Space Law and Space Laws of the United Statesprovides helpful practice tips for representing clients and doing business in today's commercial space industry, as well as important coverage of the essentials for students of Space Law. Each chapter explores a nuanced space law issue and concludes with review questions. Written by two Georgetown Space Law professors who are also Space Law practitioners, with more than 50 years of combined expertise having worked as legal counsel for NASA, in the halls of Congress and in the Executive Branch, this book explains complex regulations in approachable language and is thoroughly annotated. This work is valuable for students of Space Law as well as practitioners.
Journals and Databases
-
Advanced Space Law Journal
The Advanced Space Law Journal is a semiannual, open-access, peer-reviewed journal that focuses on theoretical and conceptual problems and issues in the realm of space law. The journal was established by the International Society of Philosophy and Cosmology (ISPC) and the Scientific Institute of Public Law in Kyiv, Ukraine. -
University of Mississippi Journal of Space Law
The University of Mississippi's Journal of Space Law is the world’s oldest journal devoted to space law. The Journal was first published under the leadership of Dr. Stephen Gorove in conjunction with the University of Mississippi School of Law and is now published bi-annually by the Center for Air and Space Law. -
HeinOnline Air and Space Law
HeinOnline’s Air and Space Law guide allows users to research how governments and regulators have reacted to new technologies, the accidents and disasters that prompted reform, and the new frontiers that await as technology advances at an improbable speed. Topics covered include: satellites and their essential function in modern life; the Space Shuttle Program, including investigation of the Columbia and Challenger disasters; the growing problem of space debris; and the increasing amount of private, commercial companies and their stake in space. HeinOnline editors have analyzed and subject-coded every title in this collection, creating and assigning 29 unique subjects to help users find material most relevant to their research. Further categorizing the content, this entire collection is organized by Outer Space and Suborbital Space, separating titles dealing with matters on celestial bodies (Outer Space) from those concerned with earthbound air travel (Suborbital Space). -
The Air and Space Lawyer
The Air and Space Lawyer, published quarterly, is the newsletter of the American Bar Association Forum on Air and Space Law, produced by ABA Publishing, as a benefit to its members.
UW Law Library Periodical Research Guide
-
Law Library Periodical Research Guide
The Law Library's Legal Periodical Databases guide features many other prominent journal indexes wherein you may find more potential resources on Space law. Useful search terms may include: "Outer Space Treaty," "Space warfare" and "Geostationary orbit."