South Asian Music : Home
About This Guide
This research guide focuses on South Asian Music. It is intended to be a useful place to start your research, offering tips to help you make the most of what is available in print, multimedia, and online resources via Mills Music Library, as well as resources available from other UW-Madison Libraries and freely on the web.
If you would like further research help, please contact the Music Public Services Librarian at Mills Music Library or the South Asia Bibliographer (see profile boxes on the right). We are always happy to help!
- The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, v. 5. South Asia: The Indian Subcontinent by Alison Arnold, editorISBN: 0824049462Mills Music Library Reference Collection ML100 G16 1998 v. 5
For the purposes of this Research Guide, South Asia includes India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, and Bangladesh. The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, v. 5 South Asia: The Indian Subcontinent provides an overview of this geographic region, a survey of its musical heritage, and descriptions of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Audio examples of the music in the print version are available on compact discs at Mills Music Library. Mills also subscribes to The Garland Encyclopedia of Music Online, which contains the full text of the 10-volume print version as well as the audio examples. This extensive resource is a great place to start your research.
In addition to the related Music and South Asia Research Guides, the following webpages may be of use:
Music Public Services Librarian
728 State Street
Madison, WI 53706