Social Studies Education : Articles

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,650 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. A total of 8,450 journals are indexed and abstracted. This resource is licensed by BadgerLink/Department of Public Instruction for use by all Wisconsin residents. (Updated daily)

ERIC (the Educational Resource Information Center) indexes more than 1.3 million bibliographic records in education research and resources. Materials include journal articles (the majority peer-reviewed), books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and others. Over 20% of ERIC records link to the full-text article. The ERIC website currently indexes approx. 1000 education journals http://www.eric.ed.gov/journals/, including citations from the former print indexes, Current Index of Journals in Education (CIJE) and Resources in Education Index (REI). ERIC also indexes non-journal or grey literature from more than 760 sources such as non-profit organizations, professional associations, state agencies, Federal agencies, etc. This resource is licensed by BadgerLink/Department of Public Instruction for use by all Wisconsin residents. (Updated twice weekly)

The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. IBSS includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing.

The database provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators. This collection offers information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice. This resource is licensed by BadgerLink/Department of Public Instruction for use by all Wisconsin residents. (Updated daily)

Looking for Children's Books on Social Studies? Search this database.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is a searchable database of more than 50,000 reviews of children's and young adult literature titles from education and library review journals such as Appraisal, ALAN Review, Five Owls, Kirkus, Kliatt, VOYA, and others. CLCD also includes the annotated entries from CCBC Choices for 1996 to the present. CCBC Choices is the annual best-of-the-year list created by professional staff of the Cooperative Children's Book Center of the School of Education at UW-Madison. The dates of reviews vary from source to source, with nothing available prior to 1991 at this time. (Updated monthly)

Education in Video is an online collection of streaming video developed for training and developing teachers. The collection includes over 3,322 video titles (approx. 932 hours) of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. Many videos also include supplementary materials for teaching and discussion. The collection also covers international learning, with videos available in several languages other than English. (Updated frequently)

TeachingBooks.net is a multimedia website that generates enthusiasm for books and reading by providing original up-close profiles of authors and illustrators and a wealth of resources on children's and young adult literature all in one place. It lets you see movies of authors in their studios, access thousands of discussion guides for books, and much more. (Updates vary)