Research Guides: Reproductive Health: Legal Information

Disclaimer

The resources on this page are meant to serve as a helpful reference for researchers, students, and practitioners seeking information on abortion laws and policies. This information is not meant to serve as legal or medical advice, nor is the Ebling Library in the position to give any legal or medical advice.

Wisconsin Laws and Policies

Wisconsin State Law Library's Abortion Research Guide
This guide contains links to the U.S. Supreme Court case law, federal law, and state laws relating to abortion in Wisconsin.
Guttmacher Institute's Interactive Map: US Abortion Policies and Access After Roe: Wisconsin
This page contains information on Wisconsin's abortion policies, resident characteristics, and abortion statistics.
Center for Reproductive Rights' Abortion Laws by State: Wisconsin
This page contains a basic summary of abortion laws in Wisconsin.

National Laws and Policies

Guttmacher Institute's An Overview of Abortion Laws
This page contains a table highlighting the major provisions of state laws relating to abortion.
Guttmacher Institute's Interactive Map: US Abortion Policies and Access After Roe
This page contains an interactive map of abortion policies, resident characteristics, and abortion statistics by state.
Center for Reproductive Rights' Abortion Laws by State
This page contains an interactive map that provides basic summaries of abortion laws by state.
Map of State Laws Impacting Telehealth for Medication Abortion Care
This page provides a map with information about whether medication abortion can be prescribed via telehealth in a given state.
Dobbs v Jackson Womens Health Organization, No. 19-1392, 597 (2022)
This Supreme Court decision overturned Roe v Wade and Planned Parenthood v. Casey, ruling that abortion is not a right protected by the US constitution.
Planned Parenthood v Casey, 505 U.S. 833 (1992)
This Supreme Court decision (overturned in 2022) upheld the right to have an abortion.
Roe v Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973)
This Supreme Court decision (overturned in 2022) protected the right to have an abortion.

Articles & Editorials

Selected articles and editorials on abortion and legal issues.

Don't Report Your Abortion Patients to Law Enforcement (MedPage Today)
Jamila Perritt, MD, MPH, and Jill E. Adams, JD
November 5, 2022, MedPage Today.
Editorial
Lawsuits, Reimbursement, and Liability Insurance—Facing the Realities of a Post-Roe Era (JAMA)
Eli Cahan, MD, MS. July 20, 2022. JAMA. 2022;328(6):515–517. doi:10.1001/jama.2022.9193
News
The End of Roe v Wade and New Legal Frontiers on the Constitutional Right to Abortion (JAMA)
Glenn Cohen, JD; Melissa Murray, JD; Lawrence O. Gostin, JD. July 8, 2022. JAMA. doi:10.1001/jama.2022.12397
Editorial
HIPAA, Privacy, and Reproductive Rights in a Post-Roe Era (JAMA)
Carmel Shachar, JD, MPH. Jul 15, 2022. JAMA. doi:10.1001/jama.2022.12510
Editorial
Protecting the Privacy of Reproductive Health Information After the Fall of Roe v Wade (JAMA Health Forum)
Kayte Spector-Bagdady, JD, MBE; Michelle M. Mello, JD, PhD, MPhil. June 30, 2022. JAMA Health Forum. doi:10.1001/jamahealthforum.2022.2656
Forum/Panel
Is My Period Tracking App Safe in Post-Roe America?
Kristen V. Brown. March 26, 2023. Bloomberg.
Editorial
ForwardHealth: Limited Abortion Coverage
January 11, 2023. Wisconsin Department of Health Services. News

Library Research Guides - University of Wisconsin Ebling Library

Reproductive Health : Legal Information

Disclaimer

Wisconsin Laws and Policies

National Laws and Policies

Articles & Editorials