Contents: Introduction and overview of a patent lawsuit -- The pizza box case: anatomy of a case for patent novices -- The complaint -- Motions to dismiss, to transfer, to strike -- Answer and counterclaims -- Preliminary injunction motions -- The case-management conference -- Discovery issues unique to patent cases -- Claim construction: the Markman hearing -- Summary judgment motions -- Pretrial issues and motions in limine -- Trial -- Posttrial proceedings -- The appeal.
Contents: An irresistible analogy -- The trouble with intellectual property in biotechnology -- Intellectual property and innovation -- Welcome to the bazaar -- Open source licensing for biotechnology -- Foundations of the biobazaar -- Financing open source biotechnology -- Biotechnology’s open source revolution.
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Invention and patents continues to be an important issue in technology and our global economy. Invention and Patenting provides a clear picture of how to be a prolific inventor, to understand patents, and the patent process. It provides an illuminating insight into the writing of invention disclosures to patents from the submission process to final drafts. The book shows how to communicate effectively with patent lawyers and patent examiners, teaching the language of "legalese." This book is unique in covering both the early invention process to final patent drafting to provide high quality patents in technologies. Key features include: How to become an inventor, how to invent, to what is invention; How to write an invention disclosure to writing a patent; Examples of utility, design, and plant patents; How to prepare the background section, brief listing of figures, detailed description of the invention, claims, abstract to artwork; Using patent search engines; Writing independent and dependent claims; Analyzing office actions of the US and European patent offices; How to write an office action response and amending claims; and, Examples of Office Action responses, preliminary amendments, to notice of allowance response; Invention and Patenting is the first book by an engineer and inventor from a technologist's point of view. It is an essential reference for engineers and inventors. It is also useful for graduate and undergraduate students in technology and the sciences.
Contents: Copyright -- Three copyright issues -- Patent -- Trademarks -- Trade secrets -- Rights of publicity, privacy, and defamation -- International IP law -- Digital rights management -- Toward tomorrow, today : IP law in virtual worlds.
This Nutshell provides a succinct description of the fundamentals of U.S. patent law. Ranging from the acquisition of patent rights to their enforcement, it contains an overview of relevant statutes, rules, and cases that collectively define this area of intellectual property law. Topics include claim construction, obviousness, anticipation, written description and enablement, infringement, remedies, and other notable doctrines. Patent law has evolved quickly in the past few years. This Nutshell captures those changes and relates them well to the overall fabric of intellectual property law. This reference is suitable for use by those with a beginner's knowledge of patent law, but it has sufficient depth to be instructive for every practitioner in this exciting and dynamic field.
The new edition of this leading text on patent law is an indispensable tool for both students and practitioners. The authoritative exposition of the law includes thoughtful analysis of the intricacies of the America Invents Act, in-depth discussion of nearly twenty recent Supreme Court decisions on patent law, and thorough treatment of all the leading Federal Circuit precedents. The volume also contains detailed materials on international issues, trade secret law, and specialized topics including plant patents, design patents and the Hatch-Waxman Act. The accessible prose, numerous illustrative examples, and humorous asides make the book user-friendly even for those who lack previous exposure to the field.
The patent grant and the meaning of patents -- Types of patents -- Other features of patents -- The value of patents -- How to evaluate an invention -- What a patent is not -- What is patentable? -- Who may obtain a patent? -- When may one apply for a patent? -- How to obtain a patent -- Prepare a disclosure of the invention -- Conduct a patentability search -- Prepare and file the patent application -- Provisional and non-provisional patent applications -- Prosecution of the non-provisional patent application -- Issuance of the patent -- Maintenance fees -- Exploitation of patents -- Enforcement of patents -- Alternatives to patent protection