LITTRANS 204: Survey of 19th and 20th Century Russian Literature in Translation II (Spring 2025) : Find Articles

Subject-Specific Databases

MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco)
A must-search database for literary scholarship in various forms - including journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
ABSEEES (American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies)
Provides access to North American and some European scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Subjects include history, culture and the arts, politics, religion, and more.
Historical Abstracts
Indexes scholarship on various international histories and the related social sciences and humanities, excluding the U.S. and Canada.

JSTOR
Archive of scholarly journals and e-books in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics.
Humanities International Complete
Database of journal articles, books, essays, and reviews covering all aspects of the humanities, with a focus on literary, scholarly, and creative thought.
Licensed by the Department of Public Instruction; Also available for use by all Wisconsin residents via BadgerLink (https://badgerlink.dpi.wi.gov).

Looking for databases beyond those recommended above? Use this method to browse databases by subject:

Start at the UW-Madison Libraries homepage and select the word “Catalog” above the large search box. This will open a drop-down menu.
Select “Databases” from the drop-down menu.
Select the “Browse by Subject/Type” link under the search bar.
Select an area that fits your research area. For the purposes of this course, try "Literature" or "Russia / Eastern Europe / Central Asia." Each subject page contains a list of many article databases.
1. These are divided into Core Databases, which contain information closely related to the subject area, and Also Helpful Databases, which are sometimes very specific and sometimes more peripherally related to the subject.
From the list of results, select “Go to this Database” to open the database, or click the name of the article database. You will be taken to a new page describing the database content.
Select “Go to this Database” in the right column of the new page and the database will open.

Use AND to combine multiple search terms and find results that cover both/all terms
- zamyatin AND totalitarianism
Use OR to combine similar search terms or synonyms to find results with either term
- zamyatin OR zamiatin
- totalitarianism OR authoritarianism OR tyranny
Use quotation marks ( " " ) to search for terms as a phrase
- "the cave"
- "yevgeny zamyatin"
Use an asterisk ( * ) to retrieve singular and plural forms or varied endings of search terms
- totalitarian* = totalitarian, totalitarianism
- tyran* = tyrant, tyranny, tyrannical
Review "subjects" or "subject headings" or "descriptors" to identify additional and useful search terms
Apply limits or filters to your results (by date, document type, language, etc.)

Follow (Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:

Access online full text (when available)
See if the journal or book is available in print (via the Library Catalog) if it is not accessible online
Request a free PDF of the article or book chapter if full text is not available online or in print (using the Request a Copy button)

If you already have a citation, use this Citation Search to search for your article.