Law Librarian
Ask a Librarian
Need Help?
Introduction
This guide is designed to provide primary and secondary legal resources on United States immigration law including access to government and specialized resources, federal & state statutes, regulations, and case law as well as information on immigration-related organizations. This guide provides a broad range of legal research tools and services available at the UW Law Library. It was not designed as an all-inclusive guide to immigration law resources.
Handbooks, Manuals and Guides
AILA Asylum Primer: A Practical Guide to U.S. Asylum Law and Procedure by Call Number: KF 4836 Z9 G47 2003Sources of asylum law -- U.S. asylum law -- Asylum and withholding of removal procedures -- Convention against torture -- Expedited removal -- Other forms of relief -- Appendix 1 - Interviewing techniques and sample intake form -- Appendix 2 - Completing the asylum application -- Appendix 3 - Applying affirmatively -- Appendix 4 - Supporting documentation -- Appendix 5 - Preparing for the hearing -- Appendix 6 - Contacts and resources -- Appendix 7 - Charts -- Appendix 8 - Recommended texts and tools- AILA's Family Immigration Law Handbook byCall Number: KF 4819.3 A352 1994ISBN: 9781878677723Publication Date: 1994-01-01
The Citizenship Flowchart and Boxnotes by
Call Number: KF 4700 Z9 2007ISBN: 9781590319215Publication Date: 2007-08-01
The Criminal Lawyer's Guide to Immigration Law by Call Number: KF 4819 M39 2006ISBN: 9781590316023Publication Date: 2006-08-152nd Edition- H-1B HandbookCall Number: KF 4829 H17ISBN: 10844090Not kept up-to-date after 2013 but latest edition is available on Westlaw for Law Schools
- Handling Immigration Cases byCall Number: KF 4819 H56 1995ISBN: 9780471046684Publication Date: 1995-12-312nd edition
- Immigration & Nationality Law HandbookCall Number: KF 4819 A2 I47Latest edition on Reserve. Law Library Reserve Collection
- Immigration Act of 1990 Handbook: The Complete Practice Guide to the 1990 ActCall Number: KF 4806.57 S55
- Immigration Act of 1990 Today : Current State of the 1990 Changes in Immigration and Nationality LawCall Number: KF 4806.57 S55
Immigration Fundamentals by Call Number: KF 4819 F72 1996ISBN: 9780872240933Publication Date: 1996-03-29
Immigration Law and Procedure : Desk Edition by Call Number: KF 4819 G623
Immigration Law and Procedure in a Nutshell by Call Number: Reserve Collection (Circulation Desk) KF4819.3 .W44 2017ISBN: 9781683288985Publication Date: 2017-06-22- IRAIRA : Selected Legislative History of the Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act of 1996Call Number: KF 4806.58 A15 I36 1997
The Law of Immigration by Call Number: KF 4819.85 J37 2008ISBN: 9780195376531Publication Date: 2008-09-223rd edition- Legal Guide for INS Detainees: Actions Brought Against INS or Other Law Enforcement Officials for Personal Injury or Property Damage or LossCall Number: KF 4819 L43 2002ISBN: 9781590311653
- Legal Guide for INS Detainees: How to Complain Effectively Step by StepCall Number: KF 4819 L432 2002ISBN: 9781590311295
The Criminal Lawyer's Guide to Immigration Law by Call Number: KF 4819 M39 2001ISBN: 9781590311820Publication Date: 2004-10-19- Visa Processing Guide : Process and Procedures at U.S. Consulates and EmbassiesCall Number: KF 4827 V57
- Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebooks: a Comprehensive Outline and Reference ToolCall Number: Reserve Collection KF 4819.3 K87 200210th Edition
- Federal Immigration Laws, Regulations & FormsCall Number: Reserve Collection KF4805.99 F33Annual - Library has latest edition only
- Immigration and Nationality Law byCall Number: KF4819.85 B46 2013ISBN: 9781422422168Publication Date: 2013-07-01
Immigration, Emigration, and Migration by Call Number: New Book Shelf JV6483 .I5532 2017ISBN: 9781479860951Publication Date: 2017-01-17
