Ask a Librarian
Need Help?
Organization of the Judicial Branch
Abbreviations
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations is helpful for determine the meaning of abbreviations for Canadian language legal publications. Search by title to find abbreviation or abbreviation to find the title.
Federal Supreme Court
- Supreme Court of Canada [CanLII]1876-present
- Canada Supreme Court Reports (Hein Online)1876-present
- Supreme Court reports [Nexis Uni]1876-present
- Supreme Court of Canada [Westlaw]1876-present
- Dominion Law Reports [print]1912-2016 (subscription cancelled)
Federal Court of Appeals & Trial Division
- Federal Court of Appeal [CanLII]1981-present
- Canada Federal Court Reports [LexisNexis]1971-present
- Exchequer Court Reports [LexisNexis]1882-1970
- Federal courts reports [Nexis Uni]1971-present
- Canada Federal Case Law [Westlaw]1875-present
- Dominion Law Reports [print]1912-2016 (subscription cancelled)
Provinces
- Provincial Cases [CanLII]Contains case law from multiple provinces
1800s-present (varies by title) - Canadian Cases [LexisNexis]Contains case law from multiple provinces
1800s-present (varies by title) - Canadian Cases [Nexis Uni]Contains case law from multiple provinces
1800s-present (varies by title) - Canada All Cases [Westlaw]Contains case law from multiple provinces
1800s-present (varies by title)
Also available on Westlaw Patron Access - Provincial reporters [print - Law Library Compact Shelving]1800s-present (varies by title)
- Western weekly reports [print]Contains case law from Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba and Saskatchewan
1912-2016 (subscription cancelled) - Ontario Reports [print]Contains case law from Ontario - Various title changes
1850-2016 (subscription cancelled) - Quebec Reports [print - French]Contains case law from Quebec - Various title changes
1811-2012 (subscription cancelled)
Topical Reporters
- Criminal Law [print & electronic]1963-2003 (subscription cancelled)
- Environmental Law [print & electronic]1987-2002 (subscription cancelled)
Digests
- Canadian Abridgment Case Digest [Westlaw]Summaries of decisions by Canadian courts and administrative tribunals from 1803-present
Also available on Westlaw Patron Access - Canadian Abridgment Case Digest [print]Summaries of decisions by Canadian courts and administrative tribunals from the earliest times to 2000
Citators - Case Law
Note: In Canada, Shepardizing cases is called "noting-up"
- KeyCite [Westlaw]1977-Present (Comprehensive); Pre-1977 (Selective)
KeyCite Canada for cases provides links to the direct appellate history of a case, positive and negative judicial treatments and authoritative secondary sources. - Canadian Case Citations [print]1867-2010
