Contact
Core Databases
- PubMed The best resource to find published literature in the health sciences. PubMed covers thousands of journals in all aspects of the health sciences (clinical, bench, economic, law, social, etc.). Results can be limited to individual studies/trials by applying "Type of Article" limits such Randomized Controlled Trials, Clinical Trial, Case Reports, etc. Users looking for the best evidence to answer clinical questions might consider conducting searches within Clinical Queries.
- CINAHL CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, directly providing online full text through links within the database, or through the FIND IT button. This database also provides full text for 220 books/monographs. With full text coverage dating back to 1937, CINAHL Plus is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing, allied health, and complementary and alternative therapies literature
- Speechbite An Australian database providing access to a catalog of Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy across the scope of Speech Therapy practice.
- Web of Science The Web of Science is a combination of three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index (Science & Technical Edition). It indexes more than 12,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data and author abstracts. Every item of significance is listed: articles, reviews, letters, notes, corrections, and editorials. In addition to access by author, title, and institution, it is also possible to search by cited authors and to find articles sharing one or more cited reference. It is possible to search the three databases independently or in any combination.
- Scopus Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It includes 100% of MEDLINE, EMBASE, and Compendex. When compared to PubMed, Scopus is particularly strong in the pharmaceutical sciences and non-North American literature.
Clinical Databases
- ClinicalKey ClinicalKey is a point-of-care resource for health care professionals designed to provide clinicians with answers quickly. ClinicalKey includes a wide range of content types to satisfy clinical information needs: books (1,000+), journals (500+), videos (13,000+), practice guidelines (2,000+), images, patient education handouts, and drug monographs. Additionally, physicians can earn free Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits through the Cleveland Clinic.
- UpToDate An excellent background resource for students and clinicians interested in efficiently filling holes in their knowledge base. UpToDate is a large on-line medical textbook (~80,000 pages of text) containing short, well-written discussions of medical topics in internal medicine, pediatrics, ob/gyn and family medicine. Each review article is written by an expert in the field being discussed, and is designed to provide a quick way to get up to speed. Approximately 40% of the content is updated every four months.
Communication, Psychology, & Education Databases
- Communication & Mass Media Complete The Electronic and Communications Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage on circuits, components and materials, photonics, control and systems, telecommunications, equipment and instrumentation, power systems and electrical engineering. Subject coverage includes: circuits, components and materials, photonics, control and systems, telecommunications, telecommunications equipment and instrumentation, power systems, theoretical, electronics and communications milieu.
- ERIC ERIC (the Educational Resource Information Center) indexes more than 1.3 million bibliographic records in education research and resources. Materials include journal articles (the majority peer-reviewed), books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and others. Over 20% of ERIC records link to the full-text article. The ERIC website currently indexes approx. 1000 education journals http://eric.ed.gov/?journals, including citations from the former print indexes, Current Index of Journals in Education (CIJE) and Resources in Education Index (REI). ERIC also indexes non-journal or grey literature from more than 760 sources such as non-profit organizations, professional associations, state agencies, Federal agencies, etc.
- PsycINFO Largest database devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Contains millions of records from journal articles (from ~2500 journals), books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations. Results can be limited to systematic reviews by applying the meta analysis or systematic review limit in the Methodology section of the search options.
- PsycARTICLES The PsycARTICLES® database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 150,000 searchable full text articles from 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 9 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the journals. Coverage spans from 1894 to the present.
Other Databases & Resources
- Google Scholar Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- REHABDATA REHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.
- PTSDpubs The PTSDpubs (formerly known as PILOTS) bibliographic database provides access to the worldwide literature on PTSD (post-traumatic stress disorder ) and other psychological effects of trauma. The PTSDpubs database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on PTSD and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
- Health Sciences Tests & Measurements Guide Information on tests and finding them, as well as links to databases, websites, and print resources.
- Systematic Reviews Guide Information on conducting systematic reviews as well as Ebling's systematic review service.
- Citation Managers Guide This guide provides information on which citation managers UW-Madison supports, as well as how to access them and information on how to use them.