Skip to main content

We are here to help

Contact Us

French Literature and Linguistics : Books

Suggested resources for graduate students of French literature

Using Advanced Search in the Library Catalog

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

Citing Sources - resources and examples of citation styles   

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use citation managers to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Core Reference Books

Reference books are usually dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, handbooks, etc. They provide quick, reliable information, summaries of complex matters, or lists of works in a certain subject or field.

WorldCat

Can't find the book you need in our library? Find it in a library near you with WorldCat, a global catalog of library collections.

Tablets, Pamphlets and Quills: Special Collections @ UW

Do you need to handle first editions prior to the 1850s?  The Department of Special Collections contains manuscripts, pamphlets, and rare books.

These collections are of unique research value, because they concentrate on a particular author, publisher, topic, or genre and thereby permit scholars to explore a subject in great depth. 

For instance, check out Encyclopédie; ou Dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des métiers below.: 

See here how to use Special Collections Materials.

Click here to check the online catalog. Select "Special Collections Library" under "Limits" on the right side.

Library Catalog

Tips for Searching

AND, OR, NOT (Keyword Boolean)

  • Use AND, OR, NOT to combine search terms
  • Use quotation marks to indicate phrases: "Comédie humaine"
  • Use opening and closing parentheses to group search terms
  • Use ? or * to truncate: femme? or femme*  (will find singular and plural forms). Note that the use of truncation symbols vary in each database or catalog.
  • There is no need to write with diacritics (accents, tildes, etc.)

Examples:

Balzac AND (thème? OR critique?)

Balzac AND “Comédie humaine”

“ XIXe siècle” AND roman AND France

“social aspects” AND “19th century” AND "French literature"

French AND "pronouns"

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the book you are looking for, you can request to have it brought from another library through Interlibrary Loan service. Click here to access the form.