Skip to main content

We are here to help

Contact Us

Lusophone Literature Resources : Journal Articles

Articles Search

Search for magazine, newspaper and scholarly articles

Article Search Tools

​Find specialized article databases on your topic:

Latin American/Caribbean/Iberian


Locate articles when you have a citation:
Find It Link

 

 

Core Article Databases

INDEXES:

Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography indexes 4,000 English language and foreign periodicals as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations. Its subject matter includes critical works on literature, language, linguistics, film, and folklore. Reviews of literary and scholarly works are not included. There are no abstracts. Approximately 50,000 citations from journals in JSTOR's Language and Literature collection are also included, providing access back to the 1880s for those titles.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) Online

HAPI contains over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.  HAPI also provides over 60,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.

Handbook of Latin American Studies

The database includes citations for books, journal articles, conference papers, and websites that pertain to the disciplines covered by HLAS, available in English, Spanish and Portuguese language interfaces. For Humanities, coverage includes: Art, History, Literature, Music, and Philosophy. For Social Sciences, coverage includes Archeology, Ethnology, Economics, Geography, Government and Politics, International Relations, Political Economy, and Sociology.

FULL-TEXT ARTICLE DATABASES:

JSTOR

JSTOR is a full-text journal database which provides access to more than 1,200 titles in the fields of African-American studies, anthropology, architecture, Asian studies, biological sciences, botany, ecology, economics, education, film, finance, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, middle east studies, music, philosophy, political science, population/demography, religion, sociology, and statistics. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, depending on the title.

SciELO

The Scientific Electronic Library Online - SciELO is an electronic library covering a selected collection of Brazilian scientific journals. Though the focus is on scientific journals, SciELO does include 8 journals on Linguística, Letras e Artes.  SciELO is constantly adding new content and it is completely open access.

Informe!

Informe!'s contents emphasize the social science and humanities.  Coverage tends to be from the mid- to late-1990s to the present, with some titles extending earlier. Of great utility for users is the fact that the PDFs are also accessible in HTML. Approximately 60 new titles are added annually.

International Index to the Performing Arts

IIPA Full Text covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more. It draws its current content from more than 200 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Currently 25 of the 200 periodicals contain full-text articles. Although the majority of titles begin in 1998, 46 important journals have been added retrospectively, some back to 1864.

Film Index International

Film Index International includes information on more than 100,000 films and 40,000 individuals from 170+ countries. It is searchable by person, film title, and keyword, plus many other fields. Records include director name, full cast and crew lists, credits, awards received, and synopses. In addition, it provides citation information for selected (mainly scholarly) reviews and other journal articles related to the film or person. For articles on film topics, see FIAF: The International Federation of Film Archives.

Film and Television Literature Index

FTLI indexes 300 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and another 300 periodicals selectively. Abstracts are included since 2004, and more will be added in the future. Articles, film reviews, and book reviews from are included from both scholarly and popular film and TV sources.

Redalyc

The Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y El Caribe, España y Portugal (Redalyc) project started in January 2003 with the general aim of building a scientific information system made up by the leading journals of all the knowledge areas edited in and about Latin America.  Redalyc has a number of journals from Brazil and Portugal related to education, literature, and culture. Redalyc has been consolidated as an important repository of knowledge with 550 journals online and more than 116 000 full-text articles.  It is another important open access database.

OTHER:

Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)

LANIC's editorially reviewed directories contain over 12,000 unique URLs, one of the largest guides for Latin American content on the Internet.  It's interface allows users to search, as well as browse by topic and region.  The Latin American Network Information Center's page of resources related to BRAZIL

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Laura Martin
Contact:
Memorial Library, Room 224A
608-890-1360