Skip to Main Content

MS-Clinical Nutrition Library Resources : Searching for and Accessing Research Articles

Nutritional Sciences Journals

Research Journals

This list contains the titles of the main research journals in Clinical Nutrition.  These links are brought to you via UW Madison online subscriptions. 

Other Journals and Publications

This list contains the titles of important, practical magazines and trade publications for Clinical Nutrition. These links are brought to you via UW Madison online subscriptions. 

 

Interested in more? See http://ebling.library.wisc.edu/bjd/index.php#ejournalsbytopic  . 

 

Finding Research Articles

Recommended Databases

Recommended databases for finding research articles and clinical decision making information in Nutritional Sciences/Clinical Sciences are:

  • Pubmed

    • Primary database for searching the research literature in any biomedical or life sciences discipline.  

  • Cochrane Library

    • This database contains articles that have been curated and assessed in order to provide high-quality independent evidence to inform clinical decision making. 

Locating Databases

By Name

To find article databases by name from the UW Libraries website:

  1. From the UW-Madison Libraries homepage, select the Catalog drop-down arrow on the left side of the page. This will open a drop-down menu.

  2. Select Databases from the drop-down menu.

  3. Type your desired article database into the search box and hit ENTER on your keyboard.

  4. When you receive the list of results, click the name of the article database. You will be taken to a new page.

  5. Click View Online in the right column of the new page and your selected database will open.

​By Topic

To find article databases by topic coverage from the UW Libraries website:

  1. From the UW-Madison Libraries homepage, select the Catalog drop-down arrow on the left side of the page. This will open a drop-down menu.

  2. Select Databases from the drop-down menu.

  3. Click the Browse by Subject/Type link under the search bar.

  4. From the large list of subject areas, select an area that fits your research question. Each subject area page contains a list of many article databases. These are divided into Core Databases, which contain information specific to the subject area, and Also Helpful Databases, which are less specific but related to the subject area.

  5. To learn more about a database, click on the database name. This will show you the database’s covered subject areas, time span, and the types of materials contained within the database.

  6. To enter the database, click View Online to the right of the database name in the search results, or in the right column of the database information page.

Searching Databases

Finding Full Text

When you search a database for research, your results will usually include the abstract and title/author/source information. If full text is available in that database you will see a link to a PDF or HTML version. Often the full text is not available in the database. Instead UW-Madison faculty, staff, and students can connect to the actual full text of the article from database search results through the FindIT link:

  1. Click the Find It button or the "Find It at UW Madison" link next to or near an article citation.

  2. Under View It, click the link. It may take you directly to the article, or you might need to choose the date, volume, issue and scan for the article. There may be multiple links provided. If one link doesn't work, try another.

If there is No Full Text Online

If the FindIT system says that there is No Full Text Online, you can request a copy of the article from the library:

  1. Click Request a Copy link at the end of the Find It results list. Log in to Interlibrary loan with your NetID.

  2. FindIT will transfer the citation from the database to the article request form. You will need to fill in any missing required information.

  3. You'll get an email when a PDF of the article is available - usually in 1-3 days - at no charge to you.

If you want to read more about the details of receiving articles and book chapters online visit the distances services page on obtaining library materials.