The Economy: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Sweatshops
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- Fair Labor Association"FLA is a collaborative effort of universities, civil society organizations and socially responsible companies dedicated to protecting workers’ rights around the world."
- United Students Against Sweatshops"USAS seeks to hold accountable multinational companies that exploit the people who work on university campuses, in our communities, and in the overseas factories where collegiate apparel is produced."
- U.S. Department of LaborThe DOL works "to foster, promote, and develop the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States; improve working conditions; advance opportunities for profitable employment; and assure work-related benefits and rights."
- National Mobilization Against Sweatshops"National Mobilization Against Sweatshops is a multi-trade, multi-ethnic workers center where working people unite across industry, race, nationality and gender to fight for the changes we need in our workplaces, communities and lives."
- Global March Against Child LaborThe Global March Against Child Labor works "to mobilise worldwide efforts to protect and promote the rights of all children, especially the right to receive a free and meaningful education and the right to be free from economic exploitation."
About Sweatshops
A sweatshop is a workplace in which workers are employed for long hours at low wages and under unhealthy or oppressive conditions. This Research Guide will assist you in finding information about local, national, and international labor exploitation and reform.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: sweatshop* AND specific area (i.e., Haiti, California, El Salvador, China), sweatshop* AND company name (i.e., Nike, Disney, Wal-Mart, Gap), sweatshop* AND type (i.e., garment, coffee, high tech, prison), child labor AND exploitation, labor AND (rights OR union OR law* OR regulation), sweatshop* AND women, sweatshop AND fair wage*, sweatshop AND (reform OR protest OR activism), working conditions AND clothing industry, World Trade Organization AND protest, fair trade AND coffee
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Books
Strategizing Against Sweatshops: The global economy, student activism, and worker empowerment by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781439918234Publication Date: 2020-01-24
The Contemporary Global Economy: A History Since 1980 by ISBN: 9781405183437Publication Date: 2011-05-06
Where Am I Wearing?: A Global Tour of the Countries, Factories, and People that Make Our Clothes by ISBN: 9780470376546Publication Date: 2008-11-24
Slaves to Fashion: Poverty and Abuse in the New Sweatshops by ISBN: 9780472109418Publication Date: 2004-10-06
Suburban Sweatshops: The Fight for Immigrant Rights by ISBN: 9780674015241Publication Date: 2005-02-18
Articles - Scholarly & Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- PAIS (Public Affairs)Public Affairs Information Service covers public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
- SocINDEX with Full TextIncludes full text for a variety of journals and books encompassing all sub-disciplines of sociology and closely related areas of study.
- ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI Inform)Database covers a wide range of business topics including accounting, finance, management, marketing and real estate.
Statistics
- Data Citation IndexThe Data Citation Index provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation.