Historical Newspapers for Art-related Research : Home

This database provides access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Every article and caption is full-text searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations. Wherever possible Special Numbers covering special events such as coronations or royal funerals have been included. (Not updated).
Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW Madison students, faculty and staff only.

This version of The Chicago Tribune and Chicago Daily Tribune includes full-text and full-image articles since its beginning year. In addition to news stories, the database includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. More recent years are available through the ProQuest Newspapers or Lexis/Nexis databases. (Updated annually, present minus 20 years)
Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW Madison students, faculty and staff only.

This version of The Los Angeles Times includes full-text and full-image articles since its beginning year. In addition to news stories, the database includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. More recent years are available through the ProQuest Newspapers or Lexis/Nexis databases. (Updated annually, present minus 20 years)
Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW Madison students, faculty and staff only.

This version of The New York Times includes full-text and full-image articles since its beginning year. In addition to news stories, the database includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. More recent years are available through Newspaper Source Plus or Lexis/Nexis Academic databases. (Updated annually, present minus four years)
Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW Madison students, faculty and staff only.

This searchable database includes page facsimiles of full issues of the London Times published from 1785 until 6 years back from the present. Sundays are not included. Searches can be limited to sections such as: Advertising, Pictures, People, News, Editorials. (Updated annually, present minus 6 years)
Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW Madison students, faculty and staff only.