Digital Humanities : Methods and Tools

Text analysis refers to a process of conducting analysis on a body, or corpus, of natural language text, in order to detect patterns (such as word frequency or associative links), create visualizations from the text, categorize or annotate the text, or otherwise "mine" it for relevant, novel, or interesting information and interpretation.

HathiTrust
A not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries, including UW-Madison Libraries, working to preserve 17+ million digitized items. It stewards the collection under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests and advances its mission and goals through a variety of services and programs for scholars that include:

• The HathiTrust Digital Library - This digital library provides access to millions of digitized items as well as to a collection builder tool you can use to create your own collections or datasets for analysis. 
• The HathiTrust Research Center (HTRC) - This research center based out of Indiana University and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign offers services that support use of the HathiTrust corpus as a dataset for analysis via text and data mining research

Gale Digital Scholar Lab
An online tool for collecting data sets comprised of content from the UW-Madison Libraries’ subscriptions to Gale Primary Sources databases. Those data sets can then be analyzed using text analysis and visualization tools built into the Digital Scholar Lab. Digital humanities analysis methods include: Named Entity Recognition, Topic Modelling, Parts of Speech, and more.

TDM Studio 
An online text and data mining tool for research, teaching and learning. It allows users to collect datasets from content available through UW-Madison Libraries’ subscription to ProQuest. Content available includes current and historical newspapers, dissertations and theses, scholarly journals, and primary sources from collections in the fields of science, technology, medicine, public policy, history and literature. 

The Socio-Technical Sustainability Roadmap
A module-based workshop intended to help you and your team approach the seemingly daunting task of sustaining your web-based, user-facing, digital humanities project over time.

PM4DH: Project Management for the Digital Humanities
A site developed by the Emory Center for Digital Scholarship. ECDS worked with the Emory Libraries and Information Technology Services Project Management Office to develop this curriculum for managing digital projects in academic libraries and other settings in service to the global digital scholarship community.

Research Data Services
Research Data Services (RDS) is an interdisciplinary organization committed to advancing research data management practice on the UW-Madison campus. They focus on providing researchers with the tools and resources that support their efforts to store, analyze and share data.

Intro to DMPTool
A microcourse that provides an overview of what a data management plan (DMP) is, what DMPTool is and how it can help researchers write a DMP for their specific funder requirements, and how to get help from Research Data Services at UW-Madison.